What Voltage Meter I Need

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by ken361, Sep 25, 2016.

  1. ken361

    ken361 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,005
    Likes Received:
    3,916
    Location:
    detroit rock city
    I'm at Menards or Lowe's trying to find the right one for biasing
     
  2. Dogs of Doom

    Dogs of Doom Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    22,675
    Likes Received:
    25,734
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    most digital meters will work. Usually, the important settings for bias are mAmp / mVolt & AC/DC voltage.
     
    blues_n_cues and ken361 like this.
  3. ken361

    ken361 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,005
    Likes Received:
    3,916
    Location:
    detroit rock city
    Found one it has a 200m setting hope that works
     
  4. Len

    Len Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    790
    You might want a 10's of mV setting. Best to buy such a meter at an electronics company, not a home improvement store.
     
  5. ken361

    ken361 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,005
    Likes Received:
    3,916
    Location:
    detroit rock city
    bought this set it 200m not working still
    The first one I bought from Lowes did not have the MV but had MA I got confused and took that back was getting no readings! then the second one from Home Depot with the 200 m setting i wasnt getting a proper reading on one tube 45 was the lowest then it jumped around and I almost gave up. I tried calling my buddy that helped me bias last time but no answer when I was at the store.

    I noticed that the digital read out was only in 2 digits instead of 3 my buddy finally called and I told him the 200 setting had a "A" next to it and the other and a "V" in the section. He looked up the" A "symbol and I think he said it was amps:) so the other symbol was Volts ahh makes sense now. Hooked it on the bias probes ah yes thats a proper reading lol So I used a 3 month tube and biased them both at 36! Going to play loud a little later and see how it holds up.

    Im new to this electrical stuff it was stressing me out big time but finally got it down and did it all by my self this time and worked well
     
    TKB likes this.
  6. Ghostman

    Ghostman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    10,321
    Likes Received:
    10,016
    Location:
    Hopehouse, Selkirk, UK
    I'm just going to say it:

    If you know so little about electronics, that you don't know how to use a Multimeter, you can get seriously hurt in a Tube Amp poking around.
     
    Len and Micky like this.
  7. ken361

    ken361 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,005
    Likes Received:
    3,916
    Location:
    detroit rock city
    He helped me twice biasing so I figured I could handle it on my own, played for a while today loud all good! Before I wouldnt consider it but it was pretty easy though.
     
  8. pedecamp

    pedecamp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,958
    Likes Received:
    14,139
    Come on man he's gotta learn sometime and somewhere, I don't know squat about electronics, I bought a multimeter and asked someone around here how to bias, end of story. I still don't know anything about electronics but I can bias my amp :applause:
     
    CraigP and ken361 like this.
  9. Dmann

    Dmann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Youtube has hundreds of Vids on how to bias, and what MM setting to use
     
    Len likes this.

Share This Page