Tube vs. Solid-State Amps

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Gianni, Oct 5, 2014.

1. Gianni

Gianni Well-Known Member

This is a thread for all those guitarists Googling its title, like I did a short while ago, wondering whether they should get a valve amp. Let’s help them make the right decision. ;)

Twelve days with my JVM-1 head, my first valve amp, and 2061CX cab, which I bought as a gift to myself for giving up smoking 2 months ago, about 30 years after my first cigarette. I started playing guitar when I was at school, and soon found myself playing at parties and a local bar with a five-piece band of schoolmates. We played punk-rock music, and sounded a lot like The Sound, but with a female singer. Soon after finishing school, though, life led me in a different direction, well, more than one actually, but all away from music.

Picking up an electric guitar again more than 20 years later, at the age of 40, was, among other things I tried, a way to keep my mind and hands busy after losing my dad and girlfriend to cancer in the same year. Although I eventually bought a Gibson Les Paul Traditional, which I could only dream about when I was young, when it came to choosing an amp I chose a solid-state, although still analogue, one.

Reading all these things online about valve amps requiring regular and costly maintenance, needing also to be played loud to actually sound good, continuously wondering whether your valves ‘sound’ as good as the last time you played, I just felt I couldn’t be bothered with them, especially in the psychological state I was at the time. So, after reading/watching numerous online reviews, and playing every solid-state amp I could find in music stores, I decided to go for SansAmp gear, which I’ve been really happy with, and still believe that Tech-21 offers the best tube-amp emulation you can find at reasonable prices, as well as exceptional customer service.