Thoughts on using a digital multi-fx with classic amps?

Discussion in 'The Tone Zone' started by What?, Nov 6, 2020.

  1. zachman

    zachman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    6,883
    Location:
    Tone Mountain
    :cheers: Ya, I separate out my time between practice, jam time, Band rehearsals and live gigs, and just having fun- which includes experimenting with tones and the gear that makes it possible.

    Here is a clip of me playing through the big rig. The 1st half is experimenting with clean tones, and the 2nd half was me experimenting w/ VH1 tone @1:45.



    Here's another... I defy you to 'hear' any digital artifacts (W/D/W ftw for eliminating MOST of that unwanted stuff). My normal settings. fyi the reverb is an EMT plate in the H8000FW. The delay is the TC 2290. NO Distortion or Fuzz, or Overdrive. That's the amp's natural gain

     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2020
  2. Dmann

    Dmann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    2,143
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    here is a Clip of the Axe-Fx III, This is 100% Modeling and Impulse Response, and current Firmware.... and I also defy you to 'hear' any digital artifacts.

    IMO he's using a little too much pre gain, but it's his dial in, and his ears, so it's how he hears it.



    You could easily replace the modeling with a real Amp in 4CM and with a little time spent EQ'ing you'd have this entire set of effects in a single preset.
     
  3. zachman

    zachman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    6,883
    Location:
    Tone Mountain
    And then... If the amp went down at a gig, you have a built in redundant backup available in the Axe too. Fantastic piece of gear!
     
  4. giblesp

    giblesp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    441
    I was undecided between digital fx and analog pedals also. I ended up going pedals, and glad I did. My new BOSS Waza Chorus completely slaughters any fx in my Kemper. I'll still use the latter for recording, because of the convenience.

    Other factor for me, my pedals will be timeless but my digital gear will probably be old and retired within a decade.

    All subjective though, Billy Corgan uses a Helix fx and was happy to make the change from traditional pedals. With the quality of digital fx nowadays, you can choose either or really.
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  5. peterplexi

    peterplexi Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    34
     
  6. peterplexi

    peterplexi Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    34
    20201031_193358.gif Seriously check out the Boss MS-3. The Helix is far too expensive to use as an effects processor imho.
    ...and much more complicated to program. The MS-3 is so simple yet does everything that you need. You can easily program 4 sounds per song with several modifiers per patch!
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  7. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,263
    Likes Received:
    4,325
    Location:
    Location:Location
    The Boss MS-3 is basically the GT-100 engine with 3 external FX loops, no expression pedal or looper, MIDI out only, and the option to connect 2 external footswitch/expression units (i.e. upto 4 CTL switches).
    The interface looks less user friendly to use, but when connected to Boss's Tone Studio app, programming is similar to the GT's.
    I think I might have gone for the MS-3 instead of the GT-100 if I had known about it.
    I don't use the expression pedal or looper much (bought an RC-3), and use Tone Studio for programming.
    Hmmmmm.....

    ms-3_R_gal-1000.jpg
     
    peterplexi likes this.
  8. Gunslinger1

    Gunslinger1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I have an original Digitech RP80. I have used it to do most of my recording. I tried using it at gigs and did not like it. I've been playing for 53 years. I have a 2008 JCM2000 DSL401. I don't like the effects loop so go straight into the amp. My main amp is a Carvin Nomad and I use the effects loop but not for all my pedals. I run my Boss chorus and tremolo, my Arion phase shifter , my MXR analog delay and my MXR ten band EQ through the effects loop. I run my Boss tuner, compressor and Blues Driver direct into the amp. Get great tones for all styles. Played a gig with a guy who had a multi effects pedal. He came over and complimented me on my tone. It may cost more but you have more control . Don't use the Blues Driver with My Marshall. Have enough gain with OD1 and OD2.
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  9. Brewski

    Brewski New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    get the headrush. its easy to use and worx great as a multi fx unit into a tube amp
     
  10. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,263
    Likes Received:
    4,325
    Location:
    Location:Location
    That could be because of the parallel FX Loop.
    I traded by 401 in for a series loop 40CR for just that reason.
    The 401 loop killed all my TBEs when I first tried to hook it up to my (then) GT-10 in 4CM.
    No amount of tweaking (kill-dry, etc.) could fix it.
     
  11. What?

    What? Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    I got one of those Supernatural reverb pedals in. It's ok for a pedal, but it still leaves me longing for the sound of springs. The tail is pretty long, and the decay control doesn't seem to have a satisfying range over it. And the reverb doesn't integrate with the guitar signal in the same sort of way as nice builtin spring reverb. It sounds to me like a guitar signal and a reverb signal kind of side by side rather than being integrated as one. It will do for now, but it's definitely temporary for me. I'm thinking that I'm about done with digital all together actually, even for effects only. I'm not some major analog / tube snob, but my ears want to hear what they want to hear, and digital never seems to get me there for anything to do with guitar sounds.
     
  12. zachman

    zachman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    6,883
    Location:
    Tone Mountain
    Should've just got a spring reverb in the 1st place
     
  13. What?

    What? Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Yep. Ain't nothing like the real thing.
     
  14. peterplexi

    peterplexi Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    34
    There are a ton of great processors out there but they really got the interface right on the MS-3. Very natural almost dare I say transparent buffering for the 5 cable method. Very easy to program without the editor as well. Very quick and glitchless switching as well
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  15. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,263
    Likes Received:
    4,325
    Location:
    Location:Location
    I just found out the patch PC# is programmable too.
    For a MIDI switching amp like a DSL40CR/100HR that means you can assign any amp channel to any patch.
    With my GT-100 the PC#s are fixed in a repeating pattern (1,2,3,4,etc.).
    So you can only have one of each channel in a 4 patch Bank.
    The MS-3 gets more tempting all the time.
     
    peterplexi likes this.
  16. zachman

    zachman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    6,883
    Location:
    Tone Mountain
    Just throwing this out there....
    IF you can assign CC#'s to each MIDI Channel per effect in the chain, you may be able to gain some programming flexibility to address the limitation
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  17. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,263
    Likes Received:
    4,325
    Location:
    Location:Location
    The only MIDI amp I have had is the DSL40CR, and I have abandoned trying to use CC#'s to affect the amp.
    The 40CR can only react to CC#'s to switch MV's or turn the FX Loop ON/OFF.
    Using CC#'s to switch uses up valuable CTL footswitches that I can put to better use.
    They are made doubly redundant since I can use the PEDL-91016 (6-button) in conjunction with MIDI.
    So it's great to have the option, but don't use the PEDL-91016 much as I don't play lead (i.e. MV's) and always have the Loop on.

    The channel switching limitation with a Boss GT-100 is that the PC#'s are pre-mapped and are not programmable.
    From the DSL manual: "Amp channels mapped to every four PC values". i.e. 0=Clean, 1=Crunch, 2=OD1, 3=OD2, 4=Clean, etc.
    Each 4-patch Bank has to have all four 40CR channels in a row.
    If you want two significantly different Classic Crunch variations you have to switch Banks.
    The MS-3 gets around that by allowing PC# assignment, per patch.

    BTW I don't think CC#'s are assignable to each effect in a chain (in a GT-100 at least).
    They are assignable as transmitted 'in-patch' messages, of which upto 8 can be sent with the press of a CTL footswitch, if you fully assign all the 8 'Assigns' available in a patch.
    This may be useful with more MIDI capable amps, but it's largely useless for the two CC# 40CR.

    All that said, I am actually fairly happy with the controllability I get from the GT-100/DSL40CR.
    But one day a JVM could throw all that out of the window! :fingersx:
     
  18. zachman

    zachman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    6,883
    Location:
    Tone Mountain
    :cheers:
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  19. What?

    What? Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    With the wetness on that Supernatural pedal dialed within a small range, it really is pretty good for a pedal. Go a little over that range or a little under and it loses cohesiveness with incoming dry sound, which is unlike nice spring reverb builtin to a nice amp. Just updating here that I did find a small wetness range where I like using the pedal.
     
  20. zachman

    zachman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    6,883
    Location:
    Tone Mountain
    Now all that's left for you to do is some comparative clips between the Pedal and a real spring reverb tank
     

Share This Page