The Official Marshall Studio Classic Thread Sc20

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by scozz, Jan 26, 2019.

  1. Old Punker

    Old Punker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    4,282
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  2. Caesar

    Caesar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    34
    Hey guys. I am in the process of reading through this massive thread, so if this has been answered already, I am sorry.

    Can anyone in the US tell the model number of the power transformer? Is it the same as the Origin or DSL 20s? Those 2 models are the same (TXMA-91073). I can't imagine Marshall is using too much of a variety of transformers.
     
    PelliX likes this.
  3. scozz

    scozz Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,430
    Likes Received:
    12,669
    I finally got a set of 6CA7s to try in my SC20, I know a bunch of you guys are using them. My tech recommended Electro Harmonix 6CA7s.

    I only put them in a couple of hours ago, and I only had about 30 or 40 minutes playing. In that short time I can definitely hear a better, thicker low end and a kind of more focused tone.

    I also may have noticed what a bit smoother, slightly less aggressiveness, not 100% on that though. But overall, after those few minutes, I really like them.

    The whole reason I wanted to try these tubes was to get a little more low end, because I had heard from virtually everyone that tried them mentioning the better low end.

    These tubes delivered on that, and it’s more than a subtle difference imo. :D
     
  4. PelliX

    PelliX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    2,827
    Hi and welcome to the forum! :welcome: I have both an SC20h and a DSL20CR, they appear to have different transformers, but both are European models, so I can't really speak for the US models. If you have a look at the pics in my gallery you will find the gutshots of the SC20 (also in this thread, but ... 300+ pages) where I explicitely photographed every single number and code on the inside. A Google images search would probably do miracles, too - no luck there?

    You've almost certainly noticed, but the last section of the gain dial really brings in the low end. If you want a thicker low end and a bit more clarity higher up try the gain dimed (even if you have to lower the input signal) and turn the presence up to a desired level... :thumb:
     
  5. scozz

    scozz Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,430
    Likes Received:
    12,669
    Yes I’ve tried the gain dimed and it certainly does thicken it up, but that’s too much gain for my liking, and it’s a touch flubby and compressed for my taste.

    I also have an eq pedal in the loop to add a bit of low end, so that, and the addition of the 6CA7s get me where I want to be.

    I like the gain around 5, rarely do I have it any higher than 6.5 or so. The master anywhere from 4 to 8, usually on the 5 watt mode.

    Thanks for the suggestion though Pellix, I appreciate it. :yesway:
     
  6. Caesar

    Caesar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    34
    Thank you. I have not yet made it to your post with all the pictures, but I will check out your gallery. No, a google search has not provided as much detail as I had hoped.
     
  7. Caesar

    Caesar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    34
    Received my shiny new JCM800 Studio today. Took a little break from test driving it to snap this pic and share with you guys.

    I don't know enough to know if what I'm doing is stupid (hopefully you will tell me if it is), but I pulled the trigger on a Euro-spec amp because of the killer price on Thomann before I fully thought about it and realized that its 230V/50Hz. For the record, the Thomann site does a very good job of telling you that information, I was apparently blinded by the prospect of a killer deal that I simply didn't see it.

    That's why my first post here was asking about the power transformer. If I can simply swap it out, I will. In the meantime, I am running it through a step-up transformer. That sort of solves the 230V problem, but not the 50Hz problem.

    Any thoughts?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Old Punker, Edgar Frog, scozz and 5 others like this.
  8. GregM

    GregM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    3,627
    Location:
    Australia
    Happy new amp day, no idea sorry.
    Mine is setup for us down under people's.
     
  9. Del Rei

    Del Rei Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Nice, man!!
    Congrats!!! \o/
     
  10. Mitchell Pearrow

    Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    15,633
    Likes Received:
    31,509
    Location:
    Moreno Valley CA
    Congratulations on your amp !
    Have no idea what to do about your second question.
    Mitch
     
    Old Punker, Del Rei and Caesar like this.
  11. GregM

    GregM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    3,627
    Location:
    Australia
    If you try the workbench forum that's where all the super smart people mostly live. I'm very sure someone can answer you
     
  12. johan.b

    johan.b Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2,095
    Likes Received:
    2,862
    Location:
    Södertälje, Sweden
    The 50-60Hz never was anything Marshall payed much attention to. Mostly the same transformers and no changes to the pcb.
     
    Old Punker likes this.
  13. Caesar

    Caesar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    34
    I made a very important/awesome discovery this evening. After playing for an hour or so and getting annoyed with the constant, fairly loud hum, I decided to try to plug a regular old 3 prong PC power cord into the 230v side of my step-up transformer. I have been using the 2 prong euro-spec cord because I thought I had to. Nope! And the hum is gone. Zero noise now. It's awesome! And I am no longer on the hunt for a US transformer.

    Today is a good day.

    Thanks to everyone who tried to help and to everyone in this thread in general. The Marshall forum seems to be a bunch of good people.
     
  14. Calebz

    Calebz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2021
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    385
    Just to clarify in case anyone is confused. The eurospec plug the eurospec sc20 comes with IS a three prong...just that unlike a US spec plug, the ground is inverted (hole instead of prong).

    Glad you got it worked out
     
  15. Caesar

    Caesar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    34
    [​IMG]
    I see what you mean. Chalk it up to my ignorance on the matter.

    This is what I received with the amp:
    [​IMG]

    Vs what I thought you were referring to until I read your post more carefully:
    [​IMG]

    (I swear I resized these pics so they weren't so damn big!)
     
  16. Il Surrealista

    Il Surrealista Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2021
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Skookum Gulch CA
     
  17. Il Surrealista

    Il Surrealista Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2021
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Skookum Gulch CA
    Hi folks. This is my first post here.
    I'm a new vc20 combo owner saw Caesar's post thought Id chime in.
    I have not take deliver yet.
    Caesar, sometimes a good technician can just re-configure the power transformer-as many amps use the same parts for both domestic and export products.
    They do this to reduce costs.
    They just use different taps which are the wires that come off the mower supply.
    I was lucky one time years ago with an amp.
    I cant find a schematic of this yet and
    These new Marshalls; one of which I just purchased, I am not sure about.
    But there is a good chance. I have seen this in Marshalls before.

    A good tube amp tech should be able to offer a wiring mod solution.
    Sometime it as simple as swapping two wires.
    Sometimes they did not use the voltage selector switch and just blanked any extra lead off.
    Its worth checking out if you haven't already.
    Hope that may help.
    Good luck.
     
    Caesar, Calebz and Mitchell Pearrow like this.
  18. Mitchell Pearrow

    Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    15,633
    Likes Received:
    31,509
    Location:
    Moreno Valley CA
    :cheers:
    :welcome:
    To The Forum
    Cheers
    Mitch
     
    Old Punker likes this.
  19. GregM

    GregM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    3,627
    Location:
    Australia
    Welcome and good luck with the combo!
     
  20. tce63

    tce63 Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2,202
    Likes Received:
    6,185
    Location:
    Sweden
    Congrats to a fantastic amp and :welcome: to the forum.

    Cheers :cheers:
     

Share This Page