>

The Official Marshall Dsl40cr Information Thread

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Bownse, Feb 5, 2018.

  1. Bownse

    Bownse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    596
    Location:
    Ceti Alpha V
    Here's a branch of the original DSL40c thread. With the updated amp coming out and the original thread so long, it was wisely suggested that a new thread be started for the new amp and owners.

    Here ya go.
     
  2. Bloodrock

    Bloodrock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,776
    Likes Received:
    3,255
    Location:
    Ft.WorthTX
    Love my new DSL40. Just retubed it with some old aperex pres and some Svetlana power tubes. Sounds awesome. Mine was factory biased around 34ma if any one is wondering. I set it to 32.
     
    ken361 likes this.
  3. MaskingApathy

    MaskingApathy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    389
    Is 32 the recommended setting? Where do you all suggest biasing it?
     
  4. Bloodrock

    Bloodrock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,776
    Likes Received:
    3,255
    Location:
    Ft.WorthTX
    Usually anywhere in the low to mid 30’s is ok. Just depends on what sounds best to you. The older DSL’s had a bias spec in the 40’s, which was way too hot and caused a lot of poor sounding amps and shortened tube life. These new ones seem to come set to a much better range from the factory.
     
  5. MaskingApathy

    MaskingApathy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    389
    What about the 100HR? Where would you set that? I've heard around 70 per side is a good place to start?
     
  6. ken361

    ken361 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275
    Likes Received:
    4,550
    Location:
    detroit rock city
    mine is and my tech highly advises it, I tried other settings and settled on [email protected] 60% plate voltage 480
     
  7. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    21,153
    Likes Received:
    17,892
    Location:
    Vermont
    It should be biased at less than 70%. It all depends on your B+ or plate voltage.
     
    MarshallDog and Bownse like this.
  8. wangchung

    wangchung Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    34
    Hey Micky!
    I've been looking for channel bright cap I.D. on the new 40CR,
    and was wondering if you might have knowledge on this.
     
  9. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    21,153
    Likes Received:
    17,892
    Location:
    Vermont
    Not yet.
    If someone sends me a schematic or better yet, a 40cr to reverse engineer, I will get right on it...
     
    Bownse likes this.
  10. wangchung

    wangchung Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    34
    That would be most illuminating. I just got through rolling tubes and the final recipe with the Weber C123055 that I bought for the "other" 40C, is quite close to what I run in my 2kDSL50 head. The
    bright cap tweak would be the cherry. Y'all still have snow on the
    ground up there?
     
  11. Troy T. Blues

    Troy T. Blues Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    Has anyone tried the loop via footswitch? I tried it last night with delay and there is a slight loss in volume. Is that due to the actual footswitch? I'll have to try and see if it does that or not without the footswitch.
     
  12. LCW

    LCW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    670
    I found the opposite with a chorus. Was clearer and louder in the loop than in front. With footswitch plugged in.
     
  13. Troy T. Blues

    Troy T. Blues Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    :shrug:
     
  14. LCW

    LCW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    670
    Maybe it depends on the effect...
     
    Bownse likes this.
  15. Bucky Berg

    Bucky Berg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    8
    I got one from the Sweetwater blowout a little south of $400. Changed the speaker to Eminence CV-75 right away. Also put the same in an old Peavey Sheffield 1x12 and closed back. Could not be happier. I feel bad though for my Carvin V3M into an early 80s 1966A Marshall cab. It is sitting there collecting dust. And it is a killer rig.
     
    Micky likes this.
  16. Bownse

    Bownse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    596
    Location:
    Ceti Alpha V
    You got a 40C or a 40CR?

    This is the CR thread. The C thread is about a bazillion pages long and chalked full of good info.
     
  17. keno beenz

    keno beenz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just got my DSL40c and after putting Tung Sol 12AX7gold pin in V1 and a 50s RCA in the PI as well as JJs in 2 and 3 ,then switching toGroove Tube E34Ls power tubes and Bias at 44.8 (cause of the the power tubes ) and installed the Celestion 75watt cream back ..Im blown away .Id like to do some mods to get maybe cleaner tones in red channel, I dunno but im looking for suggestions ,thank you
     
  18. Bucky Berg

    Bucky Berg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sorry. Got the 40C
     
  19. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    I noticed the same thing with a boss dd3, ge7 or Joyo eq in the loop. when I simply put a jumper cable in the loop, I didn't notice the volume loss.

    Also, I notice that when the fx loop is turned on with one of the mentioned pedals, there seems to be a loss of preamp distortion.
     
  20. ken361

    ken361 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275
    Likes Received:
    4,550
    Location:
    detroit rock city

Share This Page