SV20C newbie questions

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Brogues, Jun 5, 2020.

  1. Brogues

    Brogues New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Recently picked up a SV20C but wondering (once my daughter is in bed) can I run the fx send through a Two Notes CAB M into headphones / DAW but leave the fx return with nothing plugged in? Does the amp still see the speaker load but effectively mute the speaker?

    Very nervous of destroying the amp within the first week of me buying it.
     
    Trident and Mitchell Pearrow like this.
  2. Mitchell Pearrow

    Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    10,616
    Likes Received:
    18,062
    Location:
    Moreno Valley CA
    I have no experience with your amp brother.
    Welcome to the forum other more knowledgeable members here will be along to help you with your questions.
    Cheers
    Mitch
     
    MarshallDog and Trident like this.
  3. MarshallDog

    MarshallDog Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,087
    Likes Received:
    14,666
    Location:
    Taintville
    Congrats on the new amp and welcome to the forum new MF'r!
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  4. Gene Ballzz

    Gene Ballzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    1,651
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Yes, the amp will still "see" the speaker, as long as the speaker is still plugged in. For that matter, I believe that on that particular model, the pre-amp & effects loop send will function even with the amp in STANDBY mode!

    Just Sayin'
    Gene
     
  5. Brogues

    Brogues New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    firstly thank you all for the warm (tube-like) welcome!!

    gene - thank you for that, I will give it a go. I didn’t realise it might work that way.

    thinking on a bit further, I could take the fx send signal run it through the CAB M but with just the power amp emulation on (switch the cab emulation off) and then send to fx return. Then I could use the CAB m as a ‘volume pedal in the fx loop’ trick but also get emulated power amp which you wouldn’t get if you just use a volume pedal. In theory I’m thinking this would give pretty good tone through the speaker at low volumes? Has anyone have experience of this?
     
  6. ken361

    ken361 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    detroit rock city
    I think the loops on the studio series kinda kill the tone some im leaving mine off
     
    tce63 likes this.
  7. Gene Ballzz

    Gene Ballzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    1,651
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    While that may be the case, the other stuff that using a loop can bring to the party is worth the compromise for some folks!
    Just Sayin'
    Gene
     
    tce63 likes this.
  8. ken361

    ken361 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    detroit rock city
    playing at bedroom levels the volume drop is pretty big with the master maxed its way less but there is some differance
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and tce63 like this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice