Stupidity.

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by iron broadsword, Jan 21, 2016.

  1. iron broadsword

    iron broadsword Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,966
    Likes Received:
    1,445
    Yep, I have the dumb. I just discovered that I've been running my 4100 at an impedance mismatch (amp 8, cab 16) for about a month and a half, about 5 hrs a week. Go me.

    I wish I could tell you this was the first time, but no.. I really need to stop playing around with this stuff. XD

    I'm not alone in this, right? Right?
     
  2. big dooley

    big dooley Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,354
    Likes Received:
    2,888
    Location:
    zeeland
    that's the main reason i like the multiple outputs marshall is using today, when you reconnect your cab you have to think which socket you take instead of assuming the selector switch is in the right position

    anyway, a wrong load is not as bad to the amp as no load at all, so i'm pretty confident to say the amp should be still ok
     
  3. MarshallDog

    MarshallDog Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15,056
    Likes Received:
    16,753
    Location:
    Taintville
    It will be fine because the amp was at 8 and the cab is 16 ohm. It could be an issue if the amp was at 16 and the cab was at 8 ohm. As long as the load is equal and/or higher in value than the amp.
     
  4. tschrama

    tschrama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Yeh, don't worry. Your amp will be fine . Did you notice a slight different in sound? They way you connected your cab (cab 8, amp 16 ohm), you can expect a slightly more pronounced bass, less damping, less mids, and a slightly more pronounced top end. I usualy like that more than the other way around (cab 16, amp 8 ohm).
     
  5. big dooley

    big dooley Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,354
    Likes Received:
    2,888
    Location:
    zeeland
    that is true for solid state amps, not for tube amps, but generally 1 step of a mismatch aint that much of a problem usually
     
  6. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    21,091
    Likes Received:
    17,779
    Location:
    Vermont
    You can't fix stupid.
     
  7. iron broadsword

    iron broadsword Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,966
    Likes Received:
    1,445
    :lol:

    Yeah, I know it's fine.. I'm just sayin'. And yeah I did notice that the amp was sounding off.. less mids and the amp was quieter was my perception. I brought the amp home to diagnose it and 'lo and behold it was just running a mismatch.
     
  8. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    21,091
    Likes Received:
    17,779
    Location:
    Vermont
    Dodged a bullet.
    I left mine on standby for a couple days a while ago.
    I dodged one too.
     
  9. iron broadsword

    iron broadsword Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,966
    Likes Received:
    1,445
    Heh, probably just put an extra 48hrs on the heaters.. and they're never the first things to go anyways.
     
  10. blues_n_cues

    blues_n_cues Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22,226
    Likes Received:
    20,108
    Location:
    Dixie Hollow
    digital & ss amp players NEVER have this problem....:cool::lol::applause:
    (flame on)
     
  11. Coronado

    Coronado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    3,563
    Location:
    Dallas

    Correct Sir, you are not alone. I think I may have won the pig - I bought a cab that had mismatched speakers (and different ohms - 2 were 16ohms, and 2 were 8ohms) and ran my head at 16. I noticed a difference in sound between the 2 sets of speakers and took a picture and posted it here on the MF. Luckily, Dogs of Doom, Ghostman, Johnfv, and SG Guy saw that I was a dumbass and quickly told me to shut off my amp now and fix that shi*t mess I had going on in there. They helped me get it all straight, provided a diagram, recommendations, and better wire suggestions. Not my proudest moment. :nuts: Very grateful to some great guys that took the time to help a dummy out!
     
  12. Frodebro

    Frodebro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4,523
    Likes Received:
    5,830
    Location:
    Seattle
    Nah, we just plug the guitars into the headphone jack and wonder why there's no sound. :ugh:
     
  13. Bloodrock

    Bloodrock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    2,860
    Location:
    Ft.WorthTX
    I thought you were gonna say you were dumb for still playing a 4100! (Inserts famous "DSL" video and runs away!) :lol:




    JK.;)
     
  14. wakjob

    wakjob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    3,817
    Location:
    C-137
    When I was a kid, I was using guitar cables to connect heads to cabs.
    Didn't know what impedance even was or if it was matched correctly.
    Come to find out later it wasn't... or even close!
    Add, countless hours of super loud kid band practice levels in the garage & basement.

    Point, you should respect and treat gear properly.

    But where did this notion that amps are these super touchy, wimpy, delicate rice paper crafted flowers? They are a lot more rugged & robust than some people give them credit for.
     
  15. Riff

    Riff Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Louisiana
    When I first got my Orange 1x12 cabinet to go with my TSL 601, I thought the ohm switch was just for the cabinet, not the combo and cabinet together. The cabinet was 16 ohms so I put the switch at 16 ohms...for about 2 YEARS!

    I finally figured it out after going to the speaker section here. I didn't notice much difference and the amp is still going strong. Whoo!
     
  16. tubes

    tubes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    3,808
    Location:
    New Zealand
    The first thing I did when I bought my 4100 (I mean after understanding that I am a perverse noddy for even buying one) was to re-wire a cab to match.

    But if we're talking as wakjob suggested..."when I was a kid..."
    Sure enough, all kinds of stupid back then.
     
  17. iron broadsword

    iron broadsword Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,966
    Likes Received:
    1,445
    What happened was I had swapped the cab to 8 ohms for stereo, and put the head on 8. When I changed the cab back I got distracted because band members were starting to show up and I forgot to put the head back on 16. hehe, it's all good. I know these things aren't featherweights and I'm not worried I damaged the amp, but had I not looked it would have stayed there for years because the amp never moves. :lol:
     
  18. Georgiatec

    Georgiatec Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,552
    Likes Received:
    4,997
    Location:
    Looking for something I don't remember what.
    It seems like these days it's very rare I get to rehearsal, set up all my gear, plug in a guitar and actually get sound. Usually there is something in the line I have not plugged in properly / switched on. There is then much cable tugging and checking around the back of the amp to look for what I've screwed up this time. :ugh:

    So no IB, you're not alone.

    PS. Never mind the time I left my 2466 on stand by for 3 days :facepalm:
     
  19. iron broadsword

    iron broadsword Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,966
    Likes Received:
    1,445
    Haha. Well, to help me with setup I made a snake for my cables. I grabbed some of that plastic flex tubing they use for running wires in cars and send my wires to and from my pedalboard inside that. Makes a lot less hassle and keeps things looking nice. Had to color code the cables though.. duct tape on one, electrical tape on one, and masking tape on another XD
     
  20. johnfv

    johnfv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5,633
    Likes Received:
    4,196
    Location:
    Austin TX
    I know someone who left one on standby for several days a while back but the amp still seems to work fine. Stupid guy is named John and looks a lot like me :hmm:
     

Share This Page