Standby Switch Usage

Discussion in 'Other Amps' started by SLICKFASTER, Sep 26, 2020.

  1. SLICKFASTER

    SLICKFASTER Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    74
    my amps standby rocker switch is not smooth and feels like it wants snap. Not wanting to break it...is it truly detrimental to an amp to not use the standby as a warm up stage and just keep standby switch on during initial start up??
    I know there are some amps without a Standby.
    Thanks
     
  2. junk notes

    junk notes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    1,674
    Location:
    house arrest
    Why not simply order the part. :) Why-dismiss-when-you-can-fix?

    edit: There is a recent thread on the Topic. It was concluded that for a Marshall this holds true and is supported in every Marshall tube amp manual. It it also correct that other amps do not use standby.
     
    IOSEPHVS likes this.
  3. SLICKFASTER

    SLICKFASTER Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    74
    I’m looking on eBay n can’t find the switch.. the amp is a Red*Bear circa 98.. where Might one be found?
     
  4. junk notes

    junk notes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    1,674
    Location:
    house arrest
    Try looking up "Red Lighted Rocker Switch". You will be able to verify the one you have.
     
    tce63 and SLICKFASTER like this.
  5. iwuk78

    iwuk78 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    26
    The standby switch on guitar tube amps is pretty pointless. It wont harm the amp to not use it.
     
    TXOldRedRocker, tce63 and SLICKFASTER like this.
  6. SLICKFASTER

    SLICKFASTER Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    74
    I have now read all the concepts about the standby switch and it seems to be more of a mute switch than anything. I have always thought heating the tubes before full power up was the best way to go...now I’m not sure..
    Think I’ll pull switch check for any ID specks, measure and take some pics.. seems should be an easy swap....
     
  7. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    25,059
    Likes Received:
    12,022
    Location:
    US of A
    Use it, do not use it. Its a preference.
    Do not sweat it.

    I turn my amplifier power on then later hit the standby for use.

    When turning off I hit standby first then hit power switch afterwards.
    It is just because it has the options.

    When I walk away from an amplifier for a while and it is ON I hit the STANDBY to OFF to save energy.

    Honestly turning the entire amplifier OFF is best since it saves your filaments/heaters life if walking away for a long time.

    That is about it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2020
    SLICKFASTER likes this.
  8. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    25,059
    Likes Received:
    12,022
    Location:
    US of A
    Damn dude, how did you like my post so fast?
    Watching your thread, huh?
     
  9. SLICKFASTER

    SLICKFASTER Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    74
    Late night...bored...
    Rolled out my half stacks n was disappointed about the old sticking switch... appreciate the support!!
     
  10. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    25,059
    Likes Received:
    12,022
    Location:
    US of A
    Man, do not worry about the switch and just play on.
     

Share This Page