SPEAKER WIRING

Discussion in 'Cabinets & Speakers' started by Guv'nor, Nov 2, 2006.

  1. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    18,207
    Likes Received:
    12,283
    Location:
    Bio-Isolation Lock Down
    Yes it's OK.
    Is the amp set to 16 ohms?
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  2. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    24,964
    Likes Received:
    11,863
    Location:
    US of A
    Its solid state with minimum 8 ohms, 65W.
    A single 16 ohm speaker will drop power output level lower and maybe be less bright and full.
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  3. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    2,663
    Location:
    On the move
    The VS65R has no speaker settings as such, only a single 8 Ohm speaker connected by wires coming from inside the "Head" portion of the combo. It is one of the Valvestate II line and has "Output 65 watts RMS - 8 Ohms" printed on the back. There are no extension speaker jacks, which is why I am attempting to wire in a speaker cable extension lead from the built-in speaker tabs for a separate cab connection.

    I know this amp probably does not deserve this kind of attention, but I've got the cab and speakers so I thought I'd have a go. Projects keep me out of trouble!
     
  4. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    24,964
    Likes Received:
    11,863
    Location:
    US of A
    The VS265R is kind of a similar amplifier with extension jack. It has the same "Output 65 watts RMS - 8 Ohms" with the difference being that the extension cabinet is placed in series with the internal speaker.
    So 8 + whaterver 4 to 16 ohm cabinet is total impedance. Yes it drops the power output of the amplifier but the additional speaker(s) add acoustic power.
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  5. BowerR64

    BowerR64 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,650
    Likes Received:
    2,573
    If i were you ide be careful dinking around with speakers and wiring with those amps they will blow up if the wind blows in the wrong direction.

    Ide keep the ohms at 16 and DO NOT EVER go below 8 with those amps they will fry quick as shit. They have very poor cooling and those output chips are super fragile. They sound good and look kickass ive had 2 of the 50 watt heads, one of the 150 watt 4 channel and one of the 50 watt combos all of them had blown at least once the 50 watt combo blew i fixed it and the stock right angle speaker cord was shorted and before i figured out what it was it blew a second time. Those molded speaker cable are junk also get rid of it also before it fails.

    The reason why i say run the amp at 16 ohms is because it runs cooler at 16 so you have less of a chance of nuking it.
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  6. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    2,663
    Location:
    On the move
    My VS65R has no moulded speaker cord, just the type of wiring you would expect to find inside a speaker cab. Single red and black wires, spaded.
    I have two 16 Ohm speakers ready to use in parallel, but do also have two 8 Ohm speakers I could run in series.
    It is good to know that running the amp at 16 Ohms with one internal speaker might actually extend the life of the amp.
    It's 22 years old already!
     
  7. Georgiatec

    Georgiatec Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,348
    Likes Received:
    4,415
    Location:
    Looking for something I don't remember what.
    You will need to use the two 16 ohm speakers you have. one in the combo and one in the extension cab. Run the + and - from the amp speaker to a jack socket and fix it into the back panel of the combo. You now have an extension output for another 16 ohm load. You will be running at 8 ohms with the extension connected and 16 without.
     
    Michael Vilogi and SkyMonkey like this.
  8. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    18,207
    Likes Received:
    12,283
    Location:
    Bio-Isolation Lock Down
    16 ohms is a good load on an 8 ohm solid state amp.
    It's OK.
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  9. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    2,663
    Location:
    On the move
    Made the mods and tested it. All is good. A 1912 cab underneath is the perfect match for the VS65R.
    Changed the tube for a JJ ECC83 and now this amp rocks.

    Cheers for the help guys.
     
    mickeydg5 likes this.
  10. Lukas

    Lukas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    Canada
    Funny I was questioning my connections today after years. Seems like such an easy thing but it’s not really explained well anywhere I don’t think. Maybe it’s the way the jacks are labeled that makes it this way. Anyway, this is the back of my JVM and it is connected to 2 1960 A&B cabs to equal a full stack. I hope this is correct? Nothing has made smoke yet in about 8 years. D4DB8797-787D-4817-B01D-51CF5615A37E.jpeg
     

    Attached Files:

    Georgiatec and Michael Vilogi like this.
  11. Matthews Guitars

    Matthews Guitars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    2,802
    As it says, use those jacks for 1 8 ohm cabinet or two 16 ohm cabinets. Since your 1960A/B cabinets are both 16 ohm cabinets, you're plugged into the right jacks.
     
  12. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    24,964
    Likes Received:
    11,863
    Location:
    US of A
    Hopefully they are set for 16 ohms. :fingersx:
    Oh, of course they are. :)
     
  13. Lukas

    Lukas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    Canada
    So if I have a buddy come over with a Mesa head and I wanna split this full stack into two half stacks so he can play through one he can’t? I believe Mesa cabs are all 8ohm and the back of Mesa heads only have 8 ohm options not 16? Or it will power it at 8 but not to it’s full potential?
     
  14. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    24,964
    Likes Received:
    11,863
    Location:
    US of A
    Which year and model Mesa head?
    A lot of Mesa Boogie have 8 and 4 ohm impedance out so in that case he could use the 4 ohm mono option.
     
  15. Lukas

    Lukas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    Canada
    Mark V... around 5 years old. Dont think the impedance at the back have changed in the last 10 years.
     
  16. BatmansMarshall

    BatmansMarshall Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    70
    My EVH 5150III 50W has a three-way load impedance switch 4/8/16 OHM.

    My Marshall Origin 50W has a 16 OHM Output and 2 x 8 OHM Outputs.

    I currently own an 8 OHM 50W speaker. There is the possibility of connecting it to another cab in a series. I am thinking of buying another 8 OHM speaker.

    So,

    2 x 8 Ohm Speaker = 8 + 8 = 16 Ohm Load

    So for both amps used separately, I just use their 16 OHM outputs? EVH set to 16 OHM and Origin's 16 OHM output? It would be nice to be able to just change heads and carry on.

    Do I have this right?
     
  17. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    18,207
    Likes Received:
    12,283
    Location:
    Bio-Isolation Lock Down
    No
    The speakers are in parallel.
    2X 8 ohm = 4 ohm

    Formula for parallel

    Speaker A X speaker B
    ------------------------ == Total load
    Speaker A + speaker B

    Speaker A 8 ohms X speaker B 8 ohms = 64
    Speaker A + speaker B = 16

    64
    ----- = 4 ohms
    16
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  18. BatmansMarshall

    BatmansMarshall Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    70
    Okay so basically daisy-chaining 2 x 8 ohms separate cabs with a single speaker in each means I need to use the 4 ohms out. The Marshall Origin 50 doesn't have that. The EVH 5150 III does. What are my options?

    What I can do is replace one of the 8 ohm with a 16 ohm version of the same speaker and instead of getting another 8 ohm cab get a 16 ohm. So go with 2 x 16 ohm instead?

    Speaker A 16 ohms X speaker B 16 ohms = 256
    Speaker A 16 + speaker B 16 = 32

    256
    ----- = 8 ohms
    32

    Meaning use the 8 ohms out of both amps for that daisy chaining of two cabs with a single 16 ohm speaker in each?
     
  19. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    18,207
    Likes Received:
    12,283
    Location:
    Bio-Isolation Lock Down
    I'm sorry you lost me.

    How many cabinets do you have? two?
    How many speakers are in each cabinet?
    What is the ohms of each individual speaker in the cabinets?
    I'm looking for possibility of re-wiring the cabinets to make a match to the amp if possible.

    You can't hook the same speakers up to 2 amps at the same time.
    But from what you are writing, it sounds like you plan to do that.

    "8 ohm out of both amps for that daisy chaining..."

    I have no clue what you are doing. Try explaining it a different way.
    Or draw a picture.
     
  20. BatmansMarshall

    BatmansMarshall Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    70
    This is the setup I want. Except I have mismatched cabs. One is 8. The other is 16. So I can't do this.

    [​IMG]

    I only want to use one amp at a time. To be able to switch out the heads. Marshall for Marshall tones, EVH for EVH tones depending on what I am playing. So I will literally be disconnecting a head and putting the other in. You'll only see one head connected to my rig at any one time.

    I want to stack two single speaker cabs. 1 x 12 on top of another 1 x 12.

    One of those cabs is 8 ohms. The other is 16 ohms.

    They are mismatched so I can't simply hook one cabs out to the other cabs in like in the diagram.

    I have two choices it seems. I can either take out the 8 ohms and replace with a 16 ohms.... or take out the 16 ohms and replace with an 8.

    If I go the 16s route, then it's the graphic isn't it? 8 ohms is what I set on both heads and I don't need to change that. Just switch them out.

    If I go the 8s route, then what would that be? 4 ohms. Which is really too low for my amps I would think.

    So it seems the 16s route might be what I need to do?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice