>

SkyNet goes LIVE.

Discussion in 'The Backstage' started by ricksdisconnected, Jun 16, 2021.

1. ricksdisconnected

ricksdisconnected Well-Known Member

2. Vinsanitizer

Vinsanitizer Hi. I'm Ace Frehley. Double Platinum Supporting Member VIP Member

Yay. Another "Jetsons" win for Hollywood. I grow weary of all this peeping Tom tech bs constantly creeping around my door. I'm a 20+ year computer tech, and even I can't keep up with privacy and security trends anymore. It's completely impossible to obtain any sense of anonymity.

StrummerJoe, Frodebro, jmp45 and 4 others like this.
  3. TXOldRedRocker

TXOldRedRocker Elucidation Sufferer Gold Supporting Member

Like Vin, I'm in tech, though 30+ years. I absolutely refuse to have anything in my house that listens, no Alexa, no Google Assistant, etc. I have Sonos speakers in my house, but I intentionally bought the model that has no kind of assistant capability, as in no hardware in them to make it possible, ever. I do not have a Ring doorbell or similar. I do have cameras, but they are pretty low-tech, and somewhat isolated.

I have iOS devices, but "Hey Siri" has never, ever been turned on.

I do not agree with what some say, "If I'm doing nothing wrong, I have nothing to hide." My privacy is exactly that. My life is private, and I don't want to give anyone the chance to compromise it, regardless of their intent.

4. Vinsanitizer

Funny you mention the quote, which I was just working on to paste here. (By the way, I'm sure you're aware that any smartphone is still capable of listening, regardless of settings, and as far as I know, short of pulling the battery which you conveniently cannot easily do. Your smart TV is listening as well. Even now we've reached the point where it is literally impossible for anyone to live off the grid indefinitely.)

About 5:55 or so: