SC20 Low input = SV20/Origin20? MDF of plywood?

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by mikhail, Dec 21, 2020.

1. mikhail

mikhail New Member

Hello!
    1. I have some DIY pedals experience and lookin on amps schematics i notice that JCM800 have one more preamp stage in front of erlier "plexi". But Low input looks the same.
    How it sounds in real life? Can SC20 sounds like SV20 in low sensitivity mode?
    2. Have Origin 20h and dislike heavy MDF chassis. What material used in Studio series?

Mitchell Pearrow and Old Punker like this.
  2. RCM 800

RCM 800 Well-Known Member

I know on my 2204 if I crank the low input it gets close to breakup but its loud AF at that point but to me it sounds plexi'ish. Kinda like Dickie Betts early stuff with the singing smooth lead tone. Ill bet the SC20 would be similar just not as loud.

Mitchell Pearrow and Old Punker like this.
  3. Old Punker

Old Punker Well-Known Member

I have wondered about this myself. :scratch:

Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  4. K2JLX

K2JLX Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

I think the studio is Baltic birch, perhaps that’s wishful thinking for my own Sv20h!

5. mikhail

mikhail New Member

You can check this removing the back cover))

6. K2JLX

K2JLX Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

I did at some point in its life, just don’t recall I was swapping v1 for a Blackburn Mullard I63.

7. ken361

ken361 Well-Known Member

its birch plywood on the studios

8. ken361

ken361 Well-Known Member

Low sensitivity on my 800C isn't very loud:( unless I boost it which I should try soon!

Mitchell Pearrow and tce63 like this.
  9. Edgar Frog

Edgar Frog Well-Known Member

Can't answer other question but the SC20H and Origin 20H weigh about the same according to Marshalls specs. The Studio is 20.7LB and the ORI20H is 21LB. Abot the weight of a hamburger. :)

Mitchell Pearrow and tce63 like this.
  10. mikhail

mikhail New Member

It may be more quality and heavy transformers in Studio!