Replacement Tube for DSL40C

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Jeff Crusan, Dec 30, 2020.

1. Jeff Crusan

Jeff Crusan New Member

So I've had this Marshall DSL40C for about five years now. It died on Christmas Eve actually and I found out that one of the tubes is blown. This is the first time I've had to deal with an amp issue like this so I am a bit of a noob. However, the tube that blew is a Marshall EL34 50/14. I'm not sure exactly what these numbers mean so if someone knows that would be a good help. Also, I know Marshall came out with a newer design to the DSL's a couple of years ago and mine is not one of those, and also the only tubes I can find are EL34 50/50's. I'm not sure if I absolutely need a 50/14, but that's what the one I have actually is so I'm guessing I'd go for a 50/14 if I can find one. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  2. ken361

ken361 Well-Known Member

stock JJ el34 I believe shit i would go through new power tubes every 6 months or so I would get a hum and that was usually that

3. Mitchell Pearrow

Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member VIP Member

Not exactly clear on the 50/14
    But stuck a pair of matched Ruby EL34’s in one of mine, but in the 5 years I have had them only 3 of the power tubes have gone south, just buy a set of matched EL34’s and pop them in and get the amp biased and you should be good to go for another couple of years.
    And a big
    Welcome to the forum
    Cheers
    Mitch

4. Max Gahne

Max Gahne Active Member