Repaired Plexi died in 10 mins

Reaction score
Hey, all,
I bought a 1967 Super Bass in December but at the time it wasn’t functioning. I took it to an amp tech I’ve never used before and he fixed a blown tube socket, replaced the caps, retubed it and gave it a grounded power chord. It took a month. Thing is, I finally brought it home tonight, played it for 10 minutes and it just went silent. Died without a sound. The mains fuse is clearly blown. No idea beyond that. Needless to say I was incredibly pissed. Do you think this is an instance of bad repair work? What could be wrong?

There were some potential red flags. The tech told me the amp sounded “anemic” because of the design and I’d probably want to use it for pedals. What?! Anemic Marshall Plexi?! A `67 Plexi for pedals?? When I brought it home, the amp wasn’t as loud as I expected. Maybe a bit quieter than my `87 JCM800, which is 50 watts. It only got drive when everything was dimed. And there was an odd squishy sound in the low register when I’d chug on chords. Also the indicator light wasn’t working. Any advice? Insight? Should I take it back to the same shop? I’ve already sunk $550 into repair work. Thanks!

StrummerJoe

Reaction score
Hey, all,
I bought a 1967 Super Bass in December but at the time it wasn’t functioning. I took it to an amp tech I’ve never used before and he fixed a blown tube socket, replaced the caps, retubed it and gave it a grounded power chord. It took a month. Thing is, I finally brought it home tonight, played it for 10 minutes and it just went silent. Died without a sound. The mains fuse is clearly blown. No idea beyond that. Needless to say I was incredibly pissed. Do you think this is an instance of bad repair work? What could be wrong?