Recommendation for a solid tech for my vintage 2558

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by zap city, Sep 11, 2021.

  1. zap city

    zap city Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    I've sent my mint 2558 out to three different "techs" locally trying to get an issue in the loop fixed. Needless to say, I'm still looking. Any recommendation for great techs. Bonus points near central FLA but willing to ship it out as well.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  2. Kinkless Tetrode

    Kinkless Tetrode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    2,486
    Can't help you find a tech in FLA, but a thorough cleaning of loop jacks may be required.

    Also, I had the cliff jack for the input wear out on my 87. If you have used the loop jacks extensively, the jacks might be coming worn out after 30 years. If I recall correctly these jacks are not mounted on a board, so easy to change.
     
    Jethro Rocker and anitoli like this.
  3. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,126
    Likes Received:
    15,343
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Great amp! Hope you get it fixed!
     
    El Gringo likes this.
  4. zap city

    zap city Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    Thanks for the replies. I think its more than the jack. I've had them stick before. I get a weird low volume static and rumbling and occasionally have to reboot a little buffer pedal on my board as it starts to lose clarity and get kind of muddy. Rebooting the buffer clears it up for about 10 minutes. Also, the static "thunder" is not volume dependent and is a consistent low volume but loud enough to be annoying as fuck. with occasional pops.
     
  5. Kinkless Tetrode

    Kinkless Tetrode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    2,486
    Does it do it with nothing plugged into the loop? Does it it do it with just a patch cord?
     
    lespaul6 likes this.
  6. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,126
    Likes Received:
    15,343
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Man, check V2 amd V3 preamp tubes. Sounds tubey to me. Could be wrong but is loop not tube driven on 2558?
    I guess one could assume they tried that already...
     
  7. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    26,779
    Likes Received:
    13,961
    Location:
    united States of America
    It sounds more like a pedal board problem.
    What makes you think it is the amplifier's effects loop circuit?
     
  8. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,126
    Likes Received:
    15,343
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Yeah there is that. What is plugged into the loop? I also assume it has been checked one device at a time, different cords, different power supplies?
     
  9. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,126
    Likes Received:
    15,343
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Try a cable between send n return in loop.
    Also if you have another amp run Send from Jubilee to return on other amp and see if it continues.
    Do reverse as well. That might determjne if it is send or return or the loop at all?
    This may well have all been done. Just trying things as I am nowhere near there for any techs.
     

Share This Page