Opinions about this amp please.

fitz

Well-Known Yinzer
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm no expert, but price seems a bit high for condition.
If he's "throwing in" that cab for free, the speakers may make the deal more attractive.
I'm not a fan of the road worn amp look, and that amp needs some cosmetic work.
Here's some recent Reverb sale prices - not the wishful thinking listing prices.
1656584826303.png

RCM 800

Reaction score
that thing has been rode hard and put away wet. The cab might be worth $200. I wouldnt offer more than $1200 after hearing and making sure it works. Who the F lays their cigarettes on top of the amp? Looks like it has either been in a damp environment or someone spilled something all over it. Looks like it was all stored out uncovered in a barn.

Gene Ballzz

Reaction score
At least the pics honestly show the condition, as opposed to polishing up a turd! Kinda wishful thinking and limiting the audience on "local pickup only" given that he's in the middle of as close as you can get to nowhere/bumfukt egypt! Having spent most of my life in Syracuse, NY, I'd say that would be an enjoyable little one or two day road trip into one of the most beautiful and picturesque areas of New York. If you had the time for it!
Just Thinkin'
Gene

V-man

Reaction score
In clean shape that would actually be a steal for an original red-tolex channel-switcher half stack in today’s market. In that shape, there are some unknowns that make the asking price reasonable or high.

1. Condition of the amp itself. What does the chassis look like inside? Is there significant corrosion to match the poor condition of the cab(s) or is it stable? Are there mods (a 50/50 with how used it appears to be). Is it playable (properly? Scratchy pots, etc).

2. Speaker cab. Is it an actual Marshall 1936/1960 cab in matching red tolex? Condition of the tolex/baffle/speakers? Are all 2 or 4 speakers working? What speakers?