New Marshall CODE digital amp series

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Moony, Jan 20, 2016.

  1. Jam81

    Jam81 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    31
  2. Basilios

    Basilios New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hope they get it going for a Mac soon. I don't have access to a pc:(
     
  3. chiliphil1

    chiliphil1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    4,846
    Likes Received:
    2,969
    Did the update, didn't notice any difference in any features/functions. Hopefully that solves the pig squeal thing when using the USB. Last time I recorded it didn't do it, so who knows? Anyhow.. I'll mention here if I have any more occurrences of that noise. First thing it did though after the update was dump the gateway while playing it, so I had to go into my phone settings, forget device, and then start all over again.

    I am still really loving it though. I took a couple of minutes today and learned "symphony of destruction" and it just nailed it. The same patch I use for Metallica stuff was perfect and this was with the Squire bullet that I just bought too.
     
  4. jmp45

    jmp45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    5,400
    Location:
    At Home
    Jalex likes this.
  5. Plectrum

    Plectrum Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK
    Mystic38, AJU and Jalex like this.
  6. jmp45

    jmp45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    5,400
    Location:
    At Home
    Oops, that got by me, should have known.
     
  7. AJU

    AJU Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Wiltshire, Uk
    Oops someone tell donald perhaps he can fix that one too ;-)
     
  8. morgan bucks

    morgan bucks New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I put in a 170 dollar g12h75 creamback in the Code 50. it now can dial in a great JVM and the overdriven small amp setting sounds great . Worthy upgrade Great bang for the Bucks!
     
  9. Dmann

    Dmann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,147
    Likes Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    clips?
     
  10. Antmax

    Antmax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    903
    Location:
    Brit in California
    I'm not noticing the digital fizz and can turn the noisegate further down with less interference and the weird squeal is definately gone from recording. Only used it for about 2 hours so far.
     
  11. chiliphil1

    chiliphil1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    4,846
    Likes Received:
    2,969
    Indeed I do. I took some time today to lay down a recording.. Now, please keep in mind that I'm not that great on guitar and I just learned this song in order to do this demo, so please forgive the mistakes of which there are many. Also, I tried to record with the Metallica setting I have which is based on the American OD amp, it didn't work that well. I ended up double tracking with the JCM800, and the DSL. I'm going to post 3 clips, one 800, one DSL, and one double tracked. Also a video which shows the settings.

    With the 800
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/1fcxj513diqocd8/Symphony of destruction CODE demo 800.mp3?dl=0
    DSL
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/twj79q2w3c4s03n/Symphony of destruction CODE demo 2000.mp3?dl=0
    Both
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/iyefbvc1h4rr2lg/Symphony of destruction CODE demo double.mp3?dl=0

    Video
     
    JCarno and Rumble like this.
  12. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,116
    Likes Received:
    15,306
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Does the firmware update nuke all my presets....?
    Never mind. I see in another thread I'm safe. Yay!! First practice with it this Friday.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2016
    AJU likes this.
  13. AJU

    AJU Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Wiltshire, Uk
    You are way too modest for your own good phil. I'm impressed with the opera section at the beginning but I couldn't find the presets for that ;-)
     
  14. Dmann

    Dmann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,147
    Likes Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Thanks for the clips :dude:
     
    chiliphil1 and Quoman7 like this.
  15. morgan bucks

    morgan bucks New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    You improved the song!
     
  16. Six String Blender

    Six String Blender New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    My Code 50 firmware has just been updated and it seems to have fixed the USB problem. Thank you! I wonder what BT changes if any..One of my devices can't see it, yet..... Tablet picked it back up. Seemed behaved. Might be working better. I will say no more news will be good news.
     
  17. munkee

    munkee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    20
    So I did a minor mod and plugged my code 50 into a 2x12 and then a 4x12. sounded great!!! I may make it permanent(in other words drill some holes!). I wish the power supply was located at the top like my other amps. So does anyone have any suggestions on how to do this. I've thought of putting a new back on the amp...have it half closed, like my peavey vypyrs.
     
    Plectrum likes this.
  18. Arc Anjil

    Arc Anjil Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Florida
    My USB connects but an error occurs saying it had trouble getting information from the CODE. The USB cable charges my phone, so IDK what's up..... :confused:
     
  19. Antmax

    Antmax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    903
    Location:
    Brit in California
    It could two things. The oddest one to me is that you so it charges your phone. The code uses a mini b which is a thick plug I've never seen used on a phone since the 90s.

    Modern phones usually use a micro usb or similarly thin plug about 3x thinner.

    The other thing is that there are charge only usb cables with fewer pins. A data usb cable has 4 or 5. The charge only cables have 2 and sometimes come with devices that don't do data transfer and carry high currents like generic thing that can be powered from your car lighter.

    The code needs a USB Type A male to Mini B male USB cable.
     
    Arc Anjil likes this.
  20. Arc Anjil

    Arc Anjil Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Florida

    Ahhhh!!

    It IS a charge-only cable (for my car adapter).

    Looks like I'm heading to the store for a real cable.

    Thanks Antmax!

    ----------------------------------------------------
    UPDATE:

    New cable (5 pin).

    Same error.....
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2016

Share This Page