>

Marshall Studio Classic Debate...help Us Settle It...

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by FIREpunkMEDIC, Mar 17, 2019.

  1. FIREpunkMEDIC

    FIREpunkMEDIC Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    70
    Ok...so a band mate and I have a disagreement going on. Shed some light on this for us if you would...

    Marshall 2203 and 2204 all tube...NO diode clipping.
    Marshall 2205 and 2210...Diode clipping.
    Silver Jubilee and Mini...diode clipping.

    JCM 800 Studio Classic 20h...DIODES OR NO?

    After responses I will let ya know which side I was on...100% sure I'm right here though.

    CHEERS!
     
  2. Len

    Len Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    797
    I’m pretty sure no diodes.
     
    FIREpunkMEDIC likes this.
  3. Gunner64

    Gunner64 Emotional Support Animal Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,333
    Likes Received:
    10,200
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    No. It's based on the 2203/2204.
     
  4. FIREpunkMEDIC

    FIREpunkMEDIC Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    70
    Two votes my way so far...P.S. he is aruing this with me even though I OWN one...haha!
     

    Attached Files:

    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  5. Moony

    Moony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    622
    I've seen gutshots of the Classic and spotted two TL072 op amps and a transistor. And a diode (aside the rectifier ones) next to a relais.
    If you've got a schematic I can tell you what they are doing. :shrug:

    Tube-wise there is no need for simulating gain stages with op amps as you've got two 12AX7 in the preamp (the third is for the PI) like on the 2203.
     
    Adieu likes this.
  6. BanditPanda

    BanditPanda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,615
    Likes Received:
    7,858
    Location:
    Montreal
    So you're saying yes?
    BP
     
  7. Moony

    Moony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    622
    What do you mean, I would say? Don't understand that (English is not my mother tongue).
     
  8. Kinkless Tetrode

    Kinkless Tetrode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    2,388
    Might be for the loop. Might be for power scaling power supply needs.
     
    FIREpunkMEDIC likes this.
  9. Moony

    Moony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    622
    I don't know as I've got no schematics, that's what I've said.
     
  10. marshallmellowed

    marshallmellowed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    7,869
    The Op Amp is for the loop, I traced it out when I had mine apart looking for a fix for the loop "volume drop" issue. I doubt there are any diodes associated with clipping, but without reverse engineering or schematics, it would be tough to tell (other than by the total absence of any diodes).
     
  11. BanditPanda

    BanditPanda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,615
    Likes Received:
    7,858
    Location:
    Montreal
    Moony when you said.... "I've seen gutshots of the Classic and spotted two TL072 op amps and a transistor. And a diode (aside the rectifier ones) next to a relais.

    I understood that you had seen ( spotted ) a diode.
    BP
     
    tce63 likes this.
  12. Kinkless Tetrode

    Kinkless Tetrode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    2,388
    It is common to use a diode in association with the power supply to a relay.
     
    tce63 likes this.
  13. BanditPanda

    BanditPanda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,615
    Likes Received:
    7,858
    Location:
    Montreal
    Ok thanks Kinky. Does not relate to the OP's diode clipping question then.
    BP
     
  14. Kinkless Tetrode

    Kinkless Tetrode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    2,388
    Probably not, but we don't know for sure without a schematic or tracing it all out.
     
    Moony, BanditPanda and tce63 like this.
  15. Moony

    Moony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    622
    Yes, that's true! :agreed:

    That's why I mentioned that's next to a relais.

    Sooner or later, the schematics will be "leaked".
    I personally don't think, that any of the gain is provided by solid state components.
     
  16. FIREpunkMEDIC

    FIREpunkMEDIC Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    70
    So...emailed Marshall directly. The Studio Classic has NO diode clipping! What you saw was indeed for the effects loop! Boom...FOR THE WIN! HAHA. First band practice with the classic tonight...I'll report back.
     
  17. Gunner64

    Gunner64 Emotional Support Animal Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,333
    Likes Received:
    10,200
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    Don't put a tube screamer or sd1 in front of it..or Bam! Diode clipping..:)
     
  18. marshallmellowed

    marshallmellowed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    7,869
    Or is it "Boom", diode clipping.
     
    Michael Roe, Gunner64 and tce63 like this.
  19. Gunner64

    Gunner64 Emotional Support Animal Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,333
    Likes Received:
    10,200
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    I think it's "Bam Boom! Diode clipping. Either way. Diode, no diode..who gives a shit as long as it sounds good and you dig it.

    My Favorite tone is a JCM800 2204 and a tube screamer set for clean boost, but I have a 2205 that's pretty damn close..with more or less a built in tube screamer. In the amp, in front of the amp, it's all clipping Diodes. I'd bet the op is using an overdrive or boost of some kind.
     
  20. SlyStrat

    SlyStrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    It doesn't matter. It has great tone and loud enough for band.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and ken361 like this.

Share This Page