JVM 410C Unpopular?

john1221

Reaction score
So I recently purchased a JVM 410H and have been dialing it in and experimenting. It's a lot of fun and a great amp, but my biggest concern is that I am a student and am always changing where I live, what I do, and am just on my feet a lot in general. Hence, I can't carry around a 4x12 1960BV like I would in a dream world. I'm heavily considering trading the head in for a JVM 410C combo, but my question is, why do people seem to avoid the combo of this amp so much? There are so many listings for used 410C's floating around but the 410H seems to be harder to come by. Can't someone who wants more speaker interchangeability just use a 410C through their preferred cab and unplug the stock speaker connection in the combo? Yeah, I do agree having that massive Marhsall head looks really cool in any environment. (The head is almost nearly the size of the combo itself). But is there another reason I'm missing?

Leonard Neemoil

Reaction score
:welcome:

I'm unaware of any problems with the head or combos, though there may be, but I think people just don't like the combos because they're too heavy and awkward. To some it's easier to carry a head and cab, even a 4x12 which I don't understand. 2x12 yeah, but not 4x12. A combo is easier than the later imo.

Another consideration would be microphonics because the tubes are so close to the speaker(s). I've no experience with the 410C so I can't comment on that.

Last edited:

Jethro Rocker

Reaction score

I'm unaware of any problems with the combo versions, though there may be, but I think people just don't like them because they're too heavy and awkward. To some it's easier to carry a head and cab, even a 4x12 which I don't understand. 2x12 yeah, but not 4x12. A combo is easier than the later imo.

Another consideration would be microphonics because the tubes are so close to the speaker(s). I've no experience with the 410C so I can't comment on that.