Jump! Jump! Jumper! Correct way and show your SLP

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by suresh, Apr 16, 2021.

1. suresh

suresh New Member

Hey Everyone,

I have an Sv20C since a week and Love this thing. Best amp I have owned.

I am a little confused about the Jumper option. I see lot of the Jumpers connected from channel 1 low sensitivity to channel 2 high and guitar plugged into the low sensitivity channel 2, but i also see a lot of them connected from Channel 2 low sensitivity to channel 1 high and guitar into channel 1 low sensitivity.

do they even tonally matter? if yes then how? I am a noob to 4 input amps so pardon my ignorance.

cheers

2. 99_Revolutions

99_Revolutions Active Member

With my plexi clone, I run top left input alone 99% of the time. If I do jump, I just add the cable to bottom left and top right inputs. All I hear it do is cut some treble(due to the normal channel not having the bright cap in the circuit and being blended with the treble channel). I recommend just experimenting with the amp and find what jumping/input works for you!

3. Chris-in-LA

Chris-in-LA Well-Known Member

I’ve never seen anyone plug into a 4-holer in either of those ways. Not that any way is wrong, I’ve just never seen that.

matttornado and crossroadsnyc like this.
  4. johan.b

johan.b Well-Known Member

For the channel jumped from, it makes no difference.
    For the channel Jumped to, it does.

The way the jacks are connected, on the channel jumped from, there will be 68k resistor from Jack to input, then another 68k to the output.
    So 136k series resistance from gitarr to jumped output. Plugging into input on "jumped to" channel, there will be significant attenuation plugging into the low and much less so, plugging into high(due to that series resistance).