Is The Boost Pedal Screwing With My Sound?

Discussion in 'The Tone Zone' started by GuitarIV, Jul 16, 2019.

  1. GuitarIV

    GuitarIV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    2,679
    Well guys,

    came home yesterday after rehearsal and I again only brought my SD-1 with me. Set the DSL to Red Lead 2 mode with the gain at around 4 and that was more than enough to fit in the mix well for rhythm work. Kicked the boost pedal on only for Solos. Worked like a charm!

    I might actually ditch the SD-1 for rhythm stuff, stick my MXR 10 band in the loop to fine tune the amps frequencies and leave the booster for solo duties only. Happy days :D
     
  2. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Yes Plexi style amps are very unforgiving and are not for everyone. I struggled too when I first started using one. I went from a JCM 800 to a 1959 Superlead (metal panel). When I play live, I often have friends come up and play a tune so I can grab a beer or whatever & often they struggle because they're use to more gain. Either that, or they ask, "where's your clean channel"! LOL :p:rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2019
  3. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    I tried the TC Electronic Spark boost pedals, mini and regular sized one in the loop of my DSL and they sounded weird to me. They both changed the tone in weird way, even the larger unit with the EQ. I use a Boss GE-7 now & love it.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  4. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Can a BOSS SD-1 be used in a loop for a boost? I haven't tried that yet.
     
  5. zachman

    zachman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6,964
    Likes Received:
    7,161
    Location:
    Tone Mountain
    You sure can
     
  6. fifteenohms

    fifteenohms Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    548
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Sounds like a sales pitch for marital aid toys out of some mailorder catalogue.
     
  7. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    26,788
    Likes Received:
    13,974
    Location:
    united States of America
    Well if you want to plug into your musical amplifier in that manner, sure, sure it does.

    But, man that is a small hole. :eek:
     
  8. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    I tried the boss SD-1 in my DSL 40CR's loop and it sounded awful! It sounded muffled, dull, weak, even with the volume full up, it was way below unity gain and ha practically no overdrive. My other boss pedals are like that too in the loop, especially my DD-3. the effect hardy is noticeable.

    Do I have a faulty loop?
     
  9. SmokeyDopey

    SmokeyDopey Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11,807
    Likes Received:
    7,889
    Location:
    Argentina
  10. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    26,788
    Likes Received:
    13,974
    Location:
    united States of America
    I would not buy an item if the manufacturer does not provide I/O specifications.

    Do not blame the pedals, blame the Marshall loop.
    Schematics would be needed to see what is going on with that effects loop.
     
  11. zachman

    zachman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6,964
    Likes Received:
    7,161
    Location:
    Tone Mountain
    No, the impedance of most pedals are designed to handle an instrument level input of about a -30dB, while your loop is putting out a Line level signal to drive something with more like -10dB/+4dB input capability. Plus the eq filter on that pedal is designed to be used in conjunction with, but before the preamp section of your amp, and when you put it in the loop you're placing it after the amp's preamp section. I only said that you could do it, not that it would sound fantastic. That being said, I am not sure about the loop in your amp, but if it's a tube loop, you may have a crappy 12AX7 in there and changing that out can have a MAJOR impact on clearing up muffled tones when in use.
     
  12. RobV

    RobV Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    75
    I haven't tried it with my Marshalls but what got me thinking that way is when I got my Ibanez TSA amps. Basically the loop moves the built in Tube Screamer where ever you want it in the chain.
     
  13. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    26,788
    Likes Received:
    13,974
    Location:
    united States of America
    I do not thinks so.

    The Tube Scramer is always right after the INPUT as far as I know.

    Which TSA amplifier?
     
  14. RobV

    RobV Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    75
    I have the TSA15H & TSA30H & exactly, input goes to a built in Tube Screamer so if I want the TS after my Fuzz but before my RAT I place the RAT in the loop and I can stack the TS into the RAT.
     
    mickeydg5 and zachman like this.
  15. El Gringo

    El Gringo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    4,141
    Location:
    Shakedown Street
    I seriously need to spend some time with you and hang out and gleam some of your most awesome wisdom (seriously not kidding ) as you are so witty
     
  16. El Gringo

    El Gringo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    4,141
    Location:
    Shakedown Street
    Yeah take it out back to the shed and let it know whose in charge , just like I will do with one of my Les Paul's that has been a total disaster since I purchased "it" in April 2018 . Right now it is with my tech who is putting on a new nylon 6/6 nut and a new ABR-1 bridge as this thing would not stay in tune for nothing and I trashed the nut and the ABR-1 bridge as it kept going out of tune and even if I looked at it , it would go out of tune . So I would walk past the guitars on there stands and when I got to this one I would curse her out mightily and threaten her with the wood chipper after I strip her of her parts and hardware if my tech can't fix her
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  17. Hannahhh

    Hannahhh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    I heard that Morley Volume Plus is a good looper pedal. The minimum (pedal all the way back) setting is adjustable so that minimum is off or minimum is almost as loud as all the way forward.
    It has a bypass button which allows the pedal to mute with the pedal all the way back and bypass engaged. Useful for setting the guitar on stands in between sets.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2019
  18. chromeboy

    chromeboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    374
    Location:
    San Bruno,CA
    Everyone is different and playing alone and in a band is very different. I use jet city amps and cabs a 50h and 100hdm heads and two 2x12 cabs . At home and at low volume the preamp on the overdrive channel is about at 5 which is good for very low volume but at gigs it's only at around 2 or 3 at best. I have pedals for more saturation if I want it but I tend not to do that so my solos cut through the mix.
     
  19. ssolo8

    ssolo8 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Texas USA
    Most definitely! If you try a boost in the front of the amp you don't so much get volume boost as a boost in saturation. If you stick an EQ, or even a gain pedal and the loop, viola! you can jack that thing up 20 DB's!!
     
  20. ssolo8

    ssolo8 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Texas USA
    Actually I like the volume boost after the effects. I don't need more dirt pushing into my echo, I need my entire chain louder. In the loop is the only way to pull the volume up without pushing more crap into the front end.
     

Share This Page