Is it possible....

Discussion in 'Cabinets & Speakers' started by GregM, Jan 8, 2021.

  1. GregM

    GregM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    I was thinking sometime down the road getting my first head unit, prolly a SC20h.
    My mustang 4 is sitting at home not getting much use, could I cut the speaker wires from that, put in an a b switch and reconnect with 1 going to a line in for the SV20 and one going back up to the mustang?
    Is there more I would need?
     
    fitz288 likes this.
  2. fitz288

    fitz288 Apprentice Fermi's Paradox Analyst Silver Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I don't have one, but I think I found a good pic for reference.
    My first thought would be, what about the SC20H in the fx loop return?

    Or just add 2 jacks for about $5.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. GregM

    GregM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    That's defilnately the baby, how do you mean add 2 jacks?
    I'm also not sure, will the fx return work with nothing sending out?Plus it would be a speaker cable going into a guitar cable wouldn't it? Isn't that bad?
     
    fitz288 likes this.
  4. fitz288

    fitz288 Apprentice Fermi's Paradox Analyst Silver Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I think you could send the SC20 DI out to the fx loop return and the Mustang power stage, but do you still need a load on the SC?.
    But drilling 2 holes and adding a couple speaker jacks in the back of the Mustang would be an easy way to use it as a 212 cab.
     
  5. GregM

    GregM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    That was kinda my thoughts, but I was going to attach something to the side and bypass going into the guts of the amp, I kinda thought an ab switch on the side with an input jack so the mustang was still hooked up in position a and going to the input jack(s) in position b
     
    fitz288 likes this.
  6. fitz288

    fitz288 Apprentice Fermi's Paradox Analyst Silver Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    You could put the jacks in that cross brace at the bottom of the cab.
    Just run a few wires up to the speaker leads - minimal cosmetic change and no "going into the guts".
     
  7. bluesky636

    bluesky636 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    127
    Sell the Mustang 4 and buy a real speaker cabinet for the head. Quit wasting time with half a$$ed cludges.
     
    IOSEPHVS likes this.
  8. Madfinger

    Madfinger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    865
    I wouldn't have put it quiet like that, but if you've pulled the trigger on a amp like the SC20H may as well go all out & get a real cab to do it justice imo.
    :cheers: on the purchase btw.
     
    Kinkless Tetrode and JBA like this.
  9. JBA

    JBA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    512
    Yep, you totally could do this but...
    -It’s a matter of time(s) before you turn on the sv and forget the cab cable (or switch) is connected to the mustang amp and not the SV. Unloaded tube amp could make you very unhappy one day. Trust me I do lots of A/B testing, I use multi-way speaker switch cables made up specifically for this testing, I understand how important it is not to leave a tube amp unloaded while strumming on the axe, and yet have still paid the price. It’s human nature to have brain farts.
    -Like was mentioned already, that little mustang cab will sound like shit compared to a Proper Sized cab with greenies or whatever flavour speakers you research that match you musical taste.
     
    Edgar Frog and GregM like this.
  10. Adieu

    Adieu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    2,139
    You can just unhook the speakers and use a phone plug to speaker spade cable
     
    Kinkless Tetrode likes this.
  11. Kinkless Tetrode

    Kinkless Tetrode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    1,959
    The 800 type amps are a match with the G12-65. This work around will be okay for now, but that SC deserves a G12-65 at some point.
     
    GregM likes this.
  12. Adieu

    Adieu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    2,139
    PS what the heck are those formally called, btw? I'm trying to track down some on Amazon for spares...and failing miserably.

    I know it exists cause I have one I salvaged from a combo I rehoused into a headshell.

    20210110_102812_resize_98.jpg
     
  13. fitz288

    fitz288 Apprentice Fermi's Paradox Analyst Silver Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Get some crimp on spade connectors and cut the end off a spare speaker cable.
     
    Kinkless Tetrode likes this.
  14. Adieu

    Adieu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    2,139
    Which size spade do Celestions take?
     
  15. fitz288

    fitz288 Apprentice Fermi's Paradox Analyst Silver Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    GregM likes this.
  16. fitz288

    fitz288 Apprentice Fermi's Paradox Analyst Silver Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Wait on that last advice.
    The 22-16 was tight on the Thirty-10s I put in my micro, and they are loose on the Vintage 30's I got for my 2x12 build.
    You might want to check the tabs on the speakers you have.
    But they sell them by wire gauge, so I'm not sure how to match the spade end size.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2021
  17. GregM

    GregM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    Was looking at the speakers today to see how to wire them, they are 8 ohm so should be able to do a series test with my Lil dsl5cr, and I noticed it has like 2 outty sticky things ( 4 in total,) on each speaker. ( the bit the spade connects too)
    Could I then leave both hooked up? It's like 180 watts if speaker I won't use
     
  18. Adieu

    Adieu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    2,139
    Hard to be 100% sure, but unless they're violating all conventions of wiring layout, it looks to be wired in parallel

    They're probably in a circuit even with power off
     
  19. GregM

    GregM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    I assume if I turn the fender on and it's made to run at 4 ohms I'll kill it, but given the only thing I've used my fender for since I got my dsl is as a tuner I can promise not to do that
     
  20. GregM

    GregM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    OK thanks , I've been looking at cabs, but that will have to be a later thing financially.
    Thinking joyo atm, 2 v30s for like a third of the price of the Marshall's, sounds hard to go past
    Edit, sorry 2 thirds, been a long day
     

Share This Page