How bad did I screw this up?

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by Bigmuff, Apr 24, 2014.

1. Bigmuff

Bigmuff Well-Known Member

This is my 'project' SG. It needed a new nut, as the previous owner had somehow gouged it badly, and the open D string was sitting on the first fret. With some difficulty I removed the old one. I've never done this before, so it was a bit sloppy. Took some finish off with it, despite carefully trimming around the nut with a razor. I installed a tusq nut on there, and now it looks like this (grainy cell phone pic):

[​IMG]

Too hideous to look at or decent for a first attempt? :ugh:

I still feel I'm getting a bit of string binding on the new nut. I haven't yet decided if I need to widen the grooves, or if it's because I'm currently tuned to drop C and the strings don't have much tension on them (10s).

Thoughts? Advice?

2. BlackSG91

BlackSG91 Well-Known Member

I've put a new black TUSQ nut on my black '06 Epiphone LP Standard. It sure was a quite an improvement in sound and it also spread out the string spacing better.;) You can use wood filler to fill in that spot, let it dry and file it to shape. Then you can touch it up with some paint. Get some small special files like I have and you can take away any burs on the nut.;)

3. dreyn77

dreyn77 Well-Known Member

No no don't listen to this guy! I'VE put a black TUSQ not on MY black 06 Epiphone LP standard.
    NO i didn't!
    Yes you did!
    NO I DIDN't!
    yes you did!

anyway, follow what black SG said!

It looks shocking! if its cracked, superglue then filler then paint then let dry one month then ultra fine sand. 1000, 2000, 3000 grit with wooden block behind sandpaper.
    bone is the best nut because you can put a hot iron on it and heat it up and the glue comes off and the paint is less likely to crack/chip.

BlackSG91 likes this.
  4. MaxFrames

MaxFrames Well-Known Member

Er... the closeup picture actually gave me the heebie jeebies, to be honest.