Has anyone seen this style of Marshall Cabinet?

Discussion in 'Let's Talk Vintage' started by Tim Cook, Dec 5, 2020.

1. Tim Cook

Tim Cook New Member

Hey, I was hoping someone out there would have the knowledge to identify/ authenticate my fathers vintage Marshall cabinet. He thinks its a 1968 and has told me it has 4 Celestian Greenback 30Watt speakers inside. It is a 4x12 slanted version and has metal pivoting handles which I haven't been able to find anywhere else leading me to question it's authenticity. If anyone could let me know what they think of it I'd appreciate anyone's opinion.

3.png 2.png

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 5, 2020
    eastsidecincy and StingRay85 like this.
  2. Dogs of Doom

Dogs of Doom Moderator Staff Member

:welcome:to the forum...

I embedded the images in the body of the post, so people wouldn't have to click on them to see them...

:cheers:

mAx___ and Tim Cook like this.
  3. Dogs of Doom

I'm not an expert, by any means, but, some things do not appear right, like the handles & the emblem.

You'll probably have to take the rear panel off & take pictures of the inside of the cab & some clear images of the speakers, w/ the code stamps on them, etc.

If this is a Marshall, maybe it had the leather handles on the top?

Are there holes for handles on there?

4. neikeel

neikeel Well-Known Member

Without pictures of the internals I don't think that it can be dated exactly. The speakers and their condition will be crucial to its value (if that is what you are enquiring about).
    It looks like a 66-67 A cab that would have had two strap handles on the top (near the gold string). Whether it was a 1960, 1982 or 1935 model will depend on the original speakers. I think I can see two broken pins of a 100 logo in the top left corner.