GR55 guitar synth. Piano patch issues

Discussion in 'The Tone Zone' started by Jethro Rocker, Sep 30, 2021.

  1. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,104
    Likes Received:
    15,281
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    I fired up the synth for first time in ages just for fun. Any piano or keys based patches mistrack to the point where open E string will sound like E flat! I have to press extremely hard to get tne notes to sound right.
    Never changed anything since last time.
    Hmm. Went through sensitivity settings, velocity etc. No change at all. Any acoustic or 12 string work fine so no issues with the Godin piezo pickups.
    Any ideas? I may load default patches again. I have everything backed up to computer.
     
    FracStrat and ricksdisconnected like this.
  2. ricksdisconnected

    ricksdisconnected Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2019
    Messages:
    11,289
    Likes Received:
    18,969
  3. FracStrat

    FracStrat Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Messages:
    1,025
    Likes Received:
    3,225
    Location:
    Water Side of WA State
    Are you using a GK2 or GK3 or do you have a Roland ready of some sort ?
     
  4. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,104
    Likes Received:
    15,281
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Godin is synth ready. Piezo built into bridge
     
  5. FracStrat

    FracStrat Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Messages:
    1,025
    Likes Received:
    3,225
    Location:
    Water Side of WA State
    The only similar experience I’ve had was with a Roland Ready Strat .. It needed a string change (of all things) and it cleaned right up ..
     
  6. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    5,157
    Location:
    Location:Location
    The metal composition of the strings may affect tracking.
     
    jmp45 likes this.
  7. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,104
    Likes Received:
    15,281
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Interesting. But haven't changed a thing since it worked last time.
     
    jmp45 and SkyMonkey like this.
  8. DaDoc

    DaDoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    4,529
    Likes Received:
    6,192
    Location:
    Rancho Deluxe, 3rd stone from the sun
    Have you tried the BOSS SY-300 yet?

    I just scored one, it's my first guitar synth..Awesome unit!

    And it don't need a special pickup system, one can plug any guitar straight into it, nor does it have the "time lag" that a lot of the older synths suffer from.

    I've just scratched the surface on what this thing can do, the preset patches alone are most cool..:cool::wow:
     
    jmp45 likes this.
  9. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    5,157
    Location:
    Location:Location
    Have you tried a Boss GT-100 yet?

    Well don't. No special pickup needed, but tracking is terrible.
     
    Jethro Rocker likes this.
  10. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,104
    Likes Received:
    15,281
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    I did way back but way too complex for me. My Godins have the piezo built in.
    It seems to work better with the Xtsa so I might clean the bridge with iso alcohol on the LG.
    I like the individual string treatments to do 12 string etc.
     

Share This Page