>

Gibson SG head-stock repair value question

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by gunboatstudio, Jul 20, 2012.

1. gunboatstudio

gunboatstudio New Member

My friend bought a Gibson Studio SG. It's one of the 2002 ones with the ebony fretboard and the moon inlays. He thought he was getting a great deal from someone who didn't realize that this fretboard is kind of raising the value to collector's on these models.

He paid $300 plus shipping, and he's happy as a clam because these things go for $500-$600.

So he opens it up. No fret wear. No buckle rash. The thing looks like it's never been played. Except, of course, for the thin hairline repair evidence at the head-stock!

So this Craigslist character has disappeared, of course.

My buddy wants to get rid of this guitar, but be honest about the repair.

So what do you guys think? Is it still worth $300? Any ball-park figures? I have zero experience with head-stock repaired guitars.

Thanks!

2. ^AXE^

^AXE^ Well-Known Member

Are you positive it's a repair?

If all you see is a hairline it's either a first rate repair or just a finish crack.

Australian likes this.
  3. gunboatstudio

gunboatstudio New Member

Hmm... We thought it was a repair. But that's a right smart question! It's a thin crack that goes all the way around. It was a little thick for a "hair-line", I think. I'll get a picture of it.

Thanks!

4. Australian

Australian Green Beret Silver Supporting Member VIP Member

This is true. I've used a strong light and magnifying glass to determine if they were crack in the wood or just surface blemishes.

5. gunboatstudio

gunboatstudio New Member

Cheers, Australian! Here's some pictures he took with his iPhone. One's a bit blurry. I think his iPhone drinks a lot.

6. Australian

Australian Green Beret Silver Supporting Member VIP Member

That does look like a break repair. Thats a common sort of shape of a Gibson headstock break.