External bias pot for user-control?

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by JHMvP, Jan 24, 2021.

1. JHMvP

JHMvP New Member

Total noob here; please assume I don't know anything. :p
    (Working on playing-technique is a more a needed priority than studying on technical amp-technique).

Sometimes I need more cleans (in volume/headroom) and sometimes I need earlier tube breakup/overdrive. The amps I use are between 5Watts (like SL5, DSL5C) and 50Watts (JCM800). Tried buying multiple amps of the same model and installing lesser/better efficient speakers, or different types of amps (house is full now) but that doesn't work either for me.

So if I'd ask my amp-guy to install a switch or pot on my amp (user-controllable on the front like a volume- or gain-knob) to switch/roll between cold bias and hot bias -within reason and safe values-, would that be feasable or reasonable?

And if yes, why isn't this a "normal default feature" on tube-amps?

I really hate lugging amps around.
    So, in an ideal world I'd love to have a (one!) 5-15Watt tube amp that can be used both very clean as well as on the edge.

(Needed is clean up to 70's classic rock, not going further than AC/DC or ZZ Top).

2. easy

easy Member

It sounds like you just need an overdrive pedal.

3. JHMvP

JHMvP New Member

I normally take my POD HD500x everywhere. :)
    But the older I get, the more I hate lugging stuff around.
    If I could take a guitar and a little amp and then be done, I'd be so much happier!

Hence my question.

4. Travis398

Travis398 Well-Known Member

I don't think changing the bias is going to give you the change you are looking for.

thetragichero likes this.
  5. JHMvP

JHMvP New Member

May I please ask you to elaborate on your remark?

6. Travis398

Travis398 Well-Known Member

In my experience changing from 70% to 60% was a very small difference, barely noticeable. I would guess if you get them much colder you would start to get some unwanted sounds.