DSL40CR Muffled Sound

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Max Power, Mar 11, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Max Power

Max Power New Member

Hi all, I recently purchased a DSL40CR amp and have an issue with the sound. I've been playing for 30 years or so and used a number of different amps but never saw this issue before. There seems to be an attack issue with it. If I play a low E power chord, for example, nice and slowly everything sounds great. If I bang the chord hard there is a muffling of the sound, almost like a volume filter kicks in and muffles the sound. Not necessarily lowering the volume but muffling it like a blanket was thrown over it. I first noticed this phenomenon when testing the amp out with tremolo picking...yeah that heavy metal stuff. I would pick the G string at 12th fret slowly then gradually increase the pick rate. At some point the sound would go from good to muffled...significantly. This can't be normal right?
    TIA
    Max

Kochens and SkyMonkey like this.
  2. SkyMonkey

SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

Is this OD2 with the gain maxxed?

If so, the 40CR apparently suffers from too much bass in the gain circuit. This can cause a compression dive in the volume.

To get the best high gain OD2 tones, back off the gain to about 6 or 7 and add the extra gain needed with an OD pedal out front.

That's what I do.

Kochens, Jethro Rocker and scozz like this.
  3. scozz

scozz Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

Welcome to The Marshall Forum @Max Power, (great user name btw).

@SkyMonkey is kinda like our resident Dsl40 expert. He’s quite knowledgeable about the ins’ and outs’ of getting great tones from Dsl40 amps.

Also, my good buddy @Mitchell Pearrow is quite adept at getting great tones from his Dsl40,... and his other amps too!

Imo, you can’t go wrong taking advice from either one of these members.

Last edited: Mar 11, 2021
  4. Max Power

Max Power New Member

That sounds like what I'm experiencing but I'll verify soon.