DSL40C ?

motoputz

Reaction score
I just bought a used 2013 dsl40c for really cheap. It has some issues
1. there is a distinct "tink" sound when initialy turning the amp on
2. the clean channel is very, very, very low in volume when compared to the "crunch" half of the green channel, it's a lot less than half the volume.
3. original tubes(not an issue that I'm aware of, just saying)
4. the red channel sounds like I have a bad or no ground, very noisy and harse. Turning the gain down helps a little but the "ground" sound doesn't go away entirely. I didn't experience this red channel noise when I played a new dsl40 a few years ago?(or I don't remember it?)
I bought this from an older guy(total gear junky) who bought it new, played and gigged it for a little while, then let it sit unused, in his house for 5 years or so (that's the story I got at any rate).

I'm new to this amp and have been lost in dsl40c thread land gleeming the posts for info of which there are 1000's of pages. It's a little overwelming, but, I've have found a few gems.
If anyone could point out some things for me to look at , check for or change entirely and share some of your favorite or most informative threads with me about this amp? I'd appreciate that.

ps - where have all the tube testers gone? ...ebay!

Richie612

Reaction score
I had the same issue with a past Dsl. It was faulty and current Dsl amps have had the fault fixed.
It was a fault with some circuit and I emailed Marshall about it and they admitted the problem.
I can't remember what the circuit was called but if you Google marshall dsl circuit I'm sure it'll come up.

Listogast

Reaction score