DSL100HR custom footswitch

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by S&M Alex, Jan 13, 2021 at 9:37 AM.

Tags:
  1. S&M Alex

    S&M Alex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    My quest to find the perfect live rig continues and Im now focusing on the DSL100HR. I like to run a clean simple setup and all I need is a clean sound, a crunch sound, and a Solo boost (eg switchable master volumes) so the DSL100HR (or the newer "twin Master Volume DSL100) looks ideal. The problem is the 2 button footswitch that comes with the amp only switches the 2 channels and turns on the FX loop. I know you can get a 6 button PEDL-91016 Pedal (which does give amazing functionality) but TBH its 4 buttons more than I need as all really need is to switch from Clean/Crunch and give a lead boost. Does anyone know if there's any way of modding the amp to change 2 button switch function, or getting a smaller "marshal switch" with less buttons
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2021 at 9:56 AM
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  2. pedecamp

    pedecamp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,949
    Likes Received:
    14,105
    They do have a 4 button footswitch.
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  3. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    3,852
    Location:
    Location:Location
    AFAIK there is no mod that can do that.
    A chip would need reprogramming.
    You could do it with 2 pedals. i.e. an OD and a clean boost.
     
    FracStrat likes this.
  4. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    3,852
    Location:
    Location:Location
    You thinking of a JVM?
    It's 6 or 2 for a DSL.
     
    FracStrat likes this.
  5. pedecamp

    pedecamp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,949
    Likes Received:
    14,105
    Its my understanding all these pedals are interchangeable, 2, 4, 6 button, doesnt matter, same technology. :yesway:
     
    SkyMonkey and S&M Alex like this.
  6. S&M Alex

    S&M Alex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Not really thinking JVM. I prefer the simple looking amps
     
  7. S&M Alex

    S&M Alex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    I like the sound of that. I'd ideally like 2 buttons but one for the channel and one for the master volumes
     
  8. S&M Alex

    S&M Alex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oxford, England

    In know this is how most people do it but I've never had any luck just using pedals. My normal sounds is fairly high gain. I've found with an amp already saturated, a boost pedal isn't able to give any significant volume increase. What's more, I want to be able to dial in the clean sound, rather than it be the crunch sound with the OD pedal turned off
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  9. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    3,852
    Location:
    Location:Location
    You could use something like a Boss LS-2 in the loop for a volume boost.
    That would bypass any compression you get from the preamp.
    If you connect the LS-2 straight through (i.e. Input to Output) then set it to A<>B mode, switching alternates between the volume settings of the A & B loop level knobs (noon is unity).

    389931-1587483762976-400.jpg

    I would suggest the PEDL-91016 is still your best bet even if it is overkill.

    BTW there was a guy who modded his PEDL-91016 to reduce the number of buttons.
    But he wanted to be rid of the MV and FX Loop switches.
    It is possible that your preferred switches could work! But I doubt it.
    Please excuse his poor English.
    Here's the link to the thread:
    https://www.marshallforum.com/threads/dsl40cr-footswitch-mods.103242/page-2#post-1980031
     
    S&M Alex likes this.
  10. S&M Alex

    S&M Alex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Oh that thread is great. Ive read it though and left a reply. Thanks for the pointer
     
  11. TheCrunge

    TheCrunge Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    WNY
    I use the DSL100HR exactly like you want to. I use the Classic Clean for cleans, and Classic Crunch w/ and OCD pedal for my dirt.
    If I want a metal distortion tone I add another OD in the chain on Classic Crunch. The other channel, Ultra Gain, is pretty useless for me. Too much compression and it doesn't cut through like the Classic channel does.
    I use the MIDI function to switch between both modes (and between master volumes for boost). I'm actually using a Line 6 HX Effects for this in 4 cable method so my setup is a bit more complicated than what you want. But you can buy a small 2-button MIDI footswitch and program it to change any of the MIDI controlled parameters on the DSL100HR. I am thinking about ditching my HX FX and going this route.
     
    SkyMonkey and S&M Alex like this.
  12. rjohns1

    rjohns1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    420
    It's actually easy if you think about it. Solder two wires to the momentary switch on the front panel for the clean/crunch channel switch, and then run those a jack on the back. Use a foot switch that is momentary. For the master volume, you could make a box that has a potentiometer, and a foot switch to remove it from the circuit. Put that in the effects loop. If you are familiar with a soldering iron and basic electronics you could do this easily.
     
  13. Max Gahne

    Max Gahne Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2020
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    55
    S&M Alex likes this.
  14. S&M Alex

    S&M Alex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oxford, England

    Yes it is. I left a comment on that thread yesterday, but thanks for the pointer anyway
     
  15. S&M Alex

    S&M Alex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Thats interesting. Do you have a link for a 2 button MIDI
    controller?
     
  16. Ramo

    Ramo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    766
    the way I do it is, I put tc boost in FX and its on all the time so when i need solo i step on the FX loop on pedal. I only have 2 way switch, i use two sound,crunch and lead.

    but I do want 6 way switch to give me more options.
     
  17. S&M Alex

    S&M Alex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Ive never had much luck using a boost to increase volume. I think its because I run my amp at fairly high gain all the time so there's nowhere left to boost
     
  18. Ramo

    Ramo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    766
    My gain is around 1 o'clock on od 1 and 2 and boosted front end with od pedal, level maxed out and gain on zero. I get chuga chug gain for metal, but when i use tc boost in loop it dose not affect sound ,just gives me more vol rather than saturation. I had it front end and had same problem, since i moved it to fx loop everything works fine.
     
  19. TheCrunge

    TheCrunge Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    WNY

    Attached Files:

    SkyMonkey likes this.
  20. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    3,852
    Location:
    Location:Location
    Now that looks good. And twin MIDI out to control a stereo DSL setup (if you have one!).
    The only thing is switching back and forth between just 2 (of 4) channels isn't something a PC# can do (I think).
    MVs and FX Loop are binary and can toggle back and forth with one CC#.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2021 at 5:42 AM

Share This Page