DSL100HR custom footswitch

S&M Alex

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
32
Reaction score
3
Location
Oxford, England
My quest to find the perfect live rig continues and Im now focusing on the DSL100HR. I like to run a clean simple setup and all I need is a clean sound, a crunch sound, and a Solo boost (eg switchable master volumes) so the DSL100HR (or the newer "twin Master Volume DSL100) looks ideal. The problem is the 2 button footswitch that comes with the amp only switches the 2 channels and turns on the FX loop. I know you can get a 6 button PEDL-91016 Pedal (which does give amazing functionality) but TBH its 4 buttons more than I need as all really need is to switch from Clean/Crunch and give a lead boost. Does anyone know if there's any way of modding the amp to change 2 button switch function, or getting a smaller "marshal switch" with less buttons
 
Last edited:

pedecamp

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
19,031
Reaction score
20,500
My quest to find the perfect live rig continues and Im now focusing on the DSL100HR. I like to run a clean simple setup and all I need is a clean sound, a crunch sound, and a Solo boost (eg switchable master volumes) so the DSL100HR (or the newer "twin Master Volume DSL100) looks ideal. The problem is the 2 button footswitch that comes with the amp only switches the 2 channels and turns on the FX loop. I know you can get a 6 button PEDL-91016 Pedal (which does give amazing functionality) but TBH its 4 buttons more than I need as all really need is to switch from Clean/Crunch and give a lead boost. Does anyone know if there's any way of modding the amp to change 2 button switch function, or getting a smaller "marshal switch" with less buttons
They do have a 4 button footswitch.
 

SkyMonkey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
4,048
Reaction score
5,881
Location
Location:Location
AFAIK there is no mod that can do that.
A chip would need reprogramming.
You could do it with 2 pedals. i.e. an OD and a clean boost.
 

S&M Alex

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
32
Reaction score
3
Location
Oxford, England
AFAIK there is no mod that can do that.
A chip would need reprogramming.
You could do it with 2 pedals. i.e. an OD and a clean boost.


In know this is how most people do it but I've never had any luck just using pedals. My normal sounds is fairly high gain. I've found with an amp already saturated, a boost pedal isn't able to give any significant volume increase. What's more, I want to be able to dial in the clean sound, rather than it be the crunch sound with the OD pedal turned off
 

SkyMonkey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
4,048
Reaction score
5,881
Location
Location:Location
You could use something like a Boss LS-2 in the loop for a volume boost.
That would bypass any compression you get from the preamp.
If you connect the LS-2 straight through (i.e. Input to Output) then set it to A<>B mode, switching alternates between the volume settings of the A & B loop level knobs (noon is unity).

389931-1587483762976-400.jpg

I would suggest the PEDL-91016 is still your best bet even if it is overkill.

BTW there was a guy who modded his PEDL-91016 to reduce the number of buttons.
But he wanted to be rid of the MV and FX Loop switches.
It is possible that your preferred switches could work! But I doubt it.
Please excuse his poor English.
Here's the link to the thread:
https://www.marshallforum.com/threads/dsl40cr-footswitch-mods.103242/page-2#post-1980031
 

S&M Alex

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
32
Reaction score
3
Location
Oxford, England

TheCrunge

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2014
Messages
96
Reaction score
29
Location
WNY
I use the DSL100HR exactly like you want to. I use the Classic Clean for cleans, and Classic Crunch w/ and OCD pedal for my dirt.
If I want a metal distortion tone I add another OD in the chain on Classic Crunch. The other channel, Ultra Gain, is pretty useless for me. Too much compression and it doesn't cut through like the Classic channel does.
I use the MIDI function to switch between both modes (and between master volumes for boost). I'm actually using a Line 6 HX Effects for this in 4 cable method so my setup is a bit more complicated than what you want. But you can buy a small 2-button MIDI footswitch and program it to change any of the MIDI controlled parameters on the DSL100HR. I am thinking about ditching my HX FX and going this route.
 

rjohns1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
1,608
Reaction score
427
My quest to find the perfect live rig continues and Im now focusing on the DSL100HR. I like to run a clean simple setup and all I need is a clean sound, a crunch sound, and a Solo boost (eg switchable master volumes) so the DSL100HR (or the newer "twin Master Volume DSL100) looks ideal. The problem is the 2 button footswitch that comes with the amp only switches the 2 channels and turns on the FX loop. I know you can get a 6 button PEDL-91016 Pedal (which does give amazing functionality) but TBH its 4 buttons more than I need as all really need is to switch from Clean/Crunch and give a lead boost. Does anyone know if there's any way of modding the amp to change 2 button switch function, or getting a smaller "marshal switch" with less buttons
It's actually easy if you think about it. Solder two wires to the momentary switch on the front panel for the clean/crunch channel switch, and then run those a jack on the back. Use a foot switch that is momentary. For the master volume, you could make a box that has a potentiometer, and a foot switch to remove it from the circuit. Put that in the effects loop. If you are familiar with a soldering iron and basic electronics you could do this easily.
 

Ramo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
1,465
Reaction score
3,642
My quest to find the perfect live rig continues and Im now focusing on the DSL100HR. I like to run a clean simple setup and all I need is a clean sound, a crunch sound, and a Solo boost (eg switchable master volumes) so the DSL100HR (or the newer "twin Master Volume DSL100) looks ideal. The problem is the 2 button footswitch that comes with the amp only switches the 2 channels and turns on the FX loop. I know you can get a 6 button PEDL-91016 Pedal (which does give amazing functionality) but TBH its 4 buttons more than I need as all really need is to switch from Clean/Crunch and give a lead boost. Does anyone know if there's any way of modding the amp to change 2 button switch function, or getting a smaller "marshal switch" with less buttons

the way I do it is, I put tc boost in FX and its on all the time so when i need solo i step on the FX loop on pedal. I only have 2 way switch, i use two sound,crunch and lead.

but I do want 6 way switch to give me more options.
 

S&M Alex

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
32
Reaction score
3
Location
Oxford, England
the way I do it is, I put tc boost in FX and its on all the time so when i need solo i step on the FX loop on pedal. I only have 2 way switch, i use two sound,crunch and lead.

but I do want 6 way switch to give me more options.

Ive never had much luck using a boost to increase volume. I think its because I run my amp at fairly high gain all the time so there's nowhere left to boost
 

Ramo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
1,465
Reaction score
3,642
Ive never had much luck using a boost to increase volume. I think its because I run my amp at fairly high gain all the time so there's nowhere left to boost
My gain is around 1 o'clock on od 1 and 2 and boosted front end with od pedal, level maxed out and gain on zero. I get chuga chug gain for metal, but when i use tc boost in loop it dose not affect sound ,just gives me more vol rather than saturation. I had it front end and had same problem, since i moved it to fx loop everything works fine.
 

SkyMonkey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
4,048
Reaction score
5,881
Location
Location:Location
While I haven't tried any yet, this one interests me
Now that looks good. And twin MIDI out to control a stereo DSL setup (if you have one!).
The only thing is switching back and forth between just 2 (of 4) channels isn't something a PC# can do (I think).
MVs and FX Loop are binary and can toggle back and forth with one CC#.
 
Last edited:


Top