DSL-40CR Problems at Gig This Weekend

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by matttornado, Oct 19, 2020.

  1. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    764
    Hey folks!

    Played a gig this weekend, outside here in PA. it was pretty cold out too.

    Clean channel & FX loop dead. Foot switch wouldn't even light up.
    To get through the gig I plugged straight into the green crunch channel and moved on.

    Yesterday I set everything up again to troubleshoot and i found that one of my pedals in the loop was not passing any signal, actually very very little, hardly noticeable. Took that out of the loop and then the FX looped worked fine.

    Everything worked fine. So what was up with my channel select and footswitch? I thought maybe one side of V1 took a dump and took the clean channel with it and perhaps the footswich too but I don't know now.

    Had this amp since 2018 and been gigging with it regularly since I got it. I know all the little quirks like turning the fx loop on and off to reset ect.....tried that at the gig.

    I also took the pedal that was not passing any signal out of the loop Saturday night and the FX loop still didn't work.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2020
    Mitchell Pearrow and tce63 like this.
  2. scozz

    scozz Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,121
    Likes Received:
    9,218
    I can’t help you but someone that can will respond soon.

    It seems like now, currently, I’m hearing about folks having a few incidents with Dsl40cr’s.

    In the recent past it was some Dsl20cr’s that were having some issues.
     
    matttornado likes this.
  3. Mitchell Pearrow

    Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    12,170
    Likes Received:
    22,011
    Location:
    Moreno Valley CA
    I am at a loss here, one of my Dsl40c’s lost a preamp tube Friday night, replacement worked fine, but volume dropped again so I sprayed some deoxit at the cable ends and did the insert an unplug method at the 2 locations and it came back like normal.
    I would try that with your footswitch.
    Cheers
     
    Jethro Rocker and matttornado like this.
  4. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    764
    Great Idea! Thanks!
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  5. WellBurnTheSky

    WellBurnTheSky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Location:
    South of France, Europe, Earth
    I had the same thing happen to me a couple of years ago when playing at a fair. Footswitch wouldn't work (I went through the 2hr set switching channels manually...not fun) and the amp overall was behaving pretty weirdly. Sure as hell, plugged everything in the next day, and it was back to normal.
    My theory is, as the backline was powered by generators (as well as some of the food and beer booths) power was pretty crappy and voltage low, to a point of causing issues with the amp. Made me purchase a Furman power filtering unit, never had an issue ever again.

    Did you plug the amp in ever since the gig ?
     
  6. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member Silver Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,702
    Likes Received:
    11,162
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Also, as an aside, have a spare of some sort. If it crapped completely then what?
     
  7. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    764
    Yeah like I said when I went to trouble shoot the next day , it was fine.
    But my 2nd channel would not work even by trying to manually chang the channels at the amp!.
     
  8. JBA

    JBA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    481
    Drum solo.. After that the bass player finally has his moment? Lol!

    But I totally agree, gigging without backup gear is like pulling out: Works great until it doesn’t.

    :D
     
  9. Mitchell Pearrow

    Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    12,170
    Likes Received:
    22,011
    Location:
    Moreno Valley CA
    Sounds to me like the switching chip has failed, Ampmad had come to this conclusion for someone else here on the forum.
    I am no tech but I do recall his conversation.
    I would take it in have them fix it, as he (Ampmad) said it a programed part that needs to be changed.
    Thanks
     
    matttornado likes this.
  10. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,797
    Likes Received:
    3,612
    Location:
    Location:Location
    If it is the switching chip it's not a repair you can do yourself as Marshall need to program the new chip.
    If the amp is under warranty then the shop where you bought it should take care of the send-away to Marshall.
    If you need to ship it yourself you could remove all the tubes and pull the chassis from the cab, then just send that.
     
  11. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    764
    I had the mother board replaced last year with the latest firmware update.
    I had a problem where the sound would fade out, The Marshall service center could not reproduce the problem so marshall told them to just replace the whole board.
    That's going off topic a little though....

    And, I usually do carry a spare but didn't that night. ugh
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and SkyMonkey like this.
  12. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    764
    The amps seems to be working fine now. I have a gig tomorrow night so we'll see what happens.
    I'm also putting new preamp tubes in later today (JJ803s) as well as cleaning all jacks and switches and cable plugs.

    I literally was set up on a pile of mulch and all of my cords were filthy dirty during the gig so maybe somthing got dirty? who knows.

    wish me luck.

    I'll report back on how things went tomorrow night.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and SkyMonkey like this.
  13. purpleplexi

    purpleplexi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    1,520
    Play better venues?
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  14. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    764
    That was by far the dirtiest place we played so far.
    Nice bar / restaurant with deck overlooking the river but the owner had us set up at the end of the parking lot next to a house. :scratch:

    We're playing there again next Friday and this time I will be prepared. Plugging straight in with wireless and just using an EQ for boost. That and my old cords I use at practice. LOL oh and a clip on tuner. real simple.

    I'll bring a backup amp too!!!!
     
    Mitchell Pearrow, JBA and SkyMonkey like this.
  15. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    764
    played again last night and no problems what so ever.

    you just never know do you?
     
    SkyMonkey and Mitchell Pearrow like this.

Share This Page