>

Dont beat me up cause its not a Marshall How to connect line 6 spider 4 HD150 to 1960 cab

Discussion in 'Cabinets & Speakers' started by Doug63, Jul 14, 2021.

  1. Doug63

    Doug63 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    21
    The line 6 head has 2 8ohm inputs in stereo, My 1960 Marshall cab has stereo 8 ohms and 4/16 ohm connections do I have to only run the head in stereo and have 2 cables running from head to cab?
     
  2. Kutt

    Kutt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,656
    Likes Received:
    2,818
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I've never used that amp but I skimmed over the guides.

    -Looks like if you run two speaker cables from the Line6 it will give a 4 ohm load total per the screenshot below. But to run a stock 1960 at 4 ohms it has to be set to mono and it would use 1 speaker cable in. No dice.

    -To run an 8 ohm load from the Line6, you'd use one jack on the amp but to run the 1960 at 8 ohms you'd have to use one side of the stereo connection (2 speakers). Again not familiar with that amp but I'm assuming you'd then lose stereo capability.

    I don't think either setup is ideal. Maybe someone else has another opinion but it seems like the "safest" configuration is to use a single 8 ohm out from the Line6 into a single stereo 8 ohm in on the 1960 (with the stereo switch set accordingly), yielding use of 2 speakers on the 1960.


    upload_2021-7-14_11-18-14.png

    upload_2021-7-14_11-18-31.png
     
  3. Doug63

    Doug63 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    21
    [​IMG]

    thats why I am confused on the back of my cab is pictured it says 8 ohm left and 8 ohm right so I would have to use 2 cables and switch cab to stereo?
     
  4. RLW59

    RLW59 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    The Spider IV HD150 is true stereo -- two separate power amps, each wanting a minimum 8 ohm load.

    So yes, set the switch on the 1960 to stereo and use two speaker cables.
    -------------
    Edited to add: the quick start and advanced manuals are contradictory and confusing. So Line 6 added this FAQ about how to hook up the Spider IV head to a cab.
    https://line6.com/support/page/kb/a...-iv-head-and-cabinet-and-connection-faq-r477/
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2021
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  5. JBA

    JBA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    620
    Oh dude don't use a Marshall cab.. that will just make your amp sound all fizzy.
     
    Crikey likes this.
  6. Matthews Guitars

    Matthews Guitars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    6,712
    Set the cabinet switch to stereo. Run two speaker cables, two from the amp and to the cabinet. Done.

    And start setting aside some money every month so you can join the Marshall owner's club sooner or later.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  7. Doug63

    Doug63 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    21
    already have 2 marshall tube heads but there are things I like on the L6 heads for certain songs I play. Was just not sure how the stereo part worked
     
  8. Doug63

    Doug63 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    21
    Actually I am quite impressed with the sound
     
  9. JBA

    JBA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    620
    upload_2021-7-17_14-52-53.jpeg
    though that was a pretty obvious joke :D
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page