Dimarzio Super Distortion Bridge PUP and what Neck???

stilllifer

Reaction score
Hey all. I have no experience with PUP swaps, so I'm leaning on you all!
Looking to swap out the stock hummer in my '96 Epi MIK LP for the Super Distortion in the bridge and something else in the neck... from what I have been reading, lots of great rock and roll peeps have been using the SD with great success for a long time... Davey and H from Maiden have had some pretty decent success with them over the years!!! :dude:
Wondering who here is using them in their LP's and what you have paired it with in the neck PUP. I'm running my LP into my JCM900 SL-X into a custom 4x12 with V30's and Greenbacks. Pretty sure the Super Distortions are going to kick massive arse with this setup...
Don't need super clean neck PUP but I would still like to retain that vintagey tone... Dimarzio PAF's seem to retain that vintage vibe...

Any feedback here is much appreciated!!!

Cheers!

Geoff

Sly Fox

Reaction score
I had a Charvel 750XL previously which was similar to an LP in the mahogany body and string thru design. I had the Super Dist in the bridge and I thought it was great and I balanced it with an Evolution neck for a high gain metal guitar. The Evo neck was super warm and not muddy on my Charvel.

LuredMaul

Reaction score
a PAF used to be the norm not the PAF Pro.......

do you want creamy neck or middle of the road or acoustic like neck tones.
Is your guitar inherently bright or even or dark?

stilllifer

Reaction score

Lured. Yeah I'm looking for that creamy neck sound... my LP is even to a little on the darker side... most of my time is spent on the bridge PUP tho, hence the upgrade to Super Distortion.

MartyStrat54

Reaction score

That's what I had in my 69 Les Paul, a Super Distortion and a PAF. Covered a lot of ground.

I have heard that a popular pairing was the Super D with an Air Zone in the neck. The Air Zone is a fatter PAF sound.