Could I buy the Noise Gate Board (joe satriani JVM) and install it on a standard JVM?

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by Diego OS, Oct 28, 2020.

  1. Diego OS

    Diego OS New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello

    Could I buy the Noise Gate Board (joe satriani JVM) and install it on a standard JVM?

    Thank you
     
  2. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,808
    Likes Received:
    3,618
    Location:
    Location:Location
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2020
    mickeydg5 likes this.
  3. Sapient

    Sapient Reformed Witchdoctor Silver Supporting Member Platinum Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    2,825
    Location:
    Uptown Haiti
    You might as well just add a flanger too. I think it would be pointless and that Joe only did it to boot out that reverb if his name was gonna be on it.

    Go pedal.

    :2c:
     
  4. aberry9475

    aberry9475 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    79
    Never seen the Satriani inside, but the reverb is on the motherboard for the standard 410. You're saying the Satch has the gate circuit on a little satellite board?
     
  5. Benighted

    Benighted Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Illinois
    I always thought the small PCB with the DSP chip is the reverb:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Waldog

    Waldog Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    32
    Just sell your JVM410H and buy a JVM410HJS. If you like the H you will love the HJS. It’s a much nicer sounding amp with much more usable gain. I’ve owned two H’s and I finally sold up and bought the HJS. There is no comparison. I only wish I’d done it sooner.
     
  7. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    25,220
    Likes Received:
    12,178
    Location:
    US of A
    Why do people buy amplifiers and want to modify them when they can just buy a nice amplifier utilizing its INPUT for preamp and its decent EFFECTS LOOP.

    Keep the basic musical amplifier basic. Leave the rest to companies that know effects much better than MARSHALL.
     
    IOSEPHVS and thetragichero like this.
  8. thetragichero

    thetragichero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,732
    Likes Received:
    817
    Location:
    flo rida
    the longer I've played the more I've gotten away from fancy channel switching, feature rich amps. just give me a simple single channel amp with a couple of controls and I'll play guitar instead of tweaking knobs
     
    myersbw likes this.
  9. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    25,220
    Likes Received:
    12,178
    Location:
    US of A
    Yes. My channel switching was always or at least 98%+ done via signal processor and midi controller.
    The amplifier laid the base sound, the tube/valve character sound.
     

Share This Page