Can I use a DSL1CR with a 2x12 or 4x12 cabinet?

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by h1bda00, Oct 22, 2021.

Tags:
  1. h1bda00

    h1bda00 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello,
    Just trying to understand if it's theoretically possible to safely connect my Marshall DSL1CR to a 2x12 or 4x12 cabinet. The DSL1 manual has the following:

    DSL 1 external speaker info.JPG

    I thought the only thing that mattered (technically, I mean) is that the impedance of the speaker cab matches that of the amp, and that the amp's watts are not too powerful for the watt rating of the speakers.
    So for a 1 watt DSL1 with a 16 Ohm output jack, shouldn't I be able to connect to a 2x12 with 25 watt GBs as long as the total impedence of the cab is 16 Ohms? Why the limitation to a 1x16 Ohm?

    Any guidance would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. fitz288

    fitz288 Well-Known Yinzer Silver Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    3,543
    Likes Received:
    8,655
    Location:
    rahndahbaht dah 'Burgh
    Hell yeah!
    It says 1 x 16 ohm speaker CABINET.
    Any 16 ohm cabinet and you're good to go.
    Should sound awesome through a 212 of greenbacks.
     
  3. h1bda00

    h1bda00 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    9
    Right, thanks. I suppose that's what they mean.
    I would have written "only ever connect a single 16 Ohm speaker cabinet"
    For me, the " 1 x " implies a single speaker within that cabinet.
     
    Old Punker, PaulHikeS2 and fitz288 like this.
  4. fitz288

    fitz288 Well-Known Yinzer Silver Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    3,543
    Likes Received:
    8,655
    Location:
    rahndahbaht dah 'Burgh
    Lot's of MFer's say they play the DSL1 through a 412.
    I used to run my DSL1H through two 10" 8 ohm cabs wired in series to 16 ohms.
    The transformer is just wired for 16 ohm output.
    There's actually an 8 ohm tap in there if you want to get into rewiring the little fella.
     
  5. PaulHikeS2

    PaulHikeS2 Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2020
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    1,363
    I also run mine through two 10" 8 ohm cabs wired in series, but I never saw that disclaimer. If it explodes and I survive the blast, I'll post an update.
     
  6. Mitchell Pearrow

    Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    15,245
    Likes Received:
    30,249
    Location:
    Moreno Valley CA
    As @fitz288 replied yes you can .
    As long as the impedance matches and you use a speaker cable you my friend are good to go.
    Cheers
    Mitch
     
    Old Punker, PelliX and fitz288 like this.
  7. PelliX

    PelliX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    2,106
    I run my DSL (20, but same idea) through two cabs. Just make sure you balance the impedance correctly on the taps and it's fine. The "only ever connect 1 speaker/cab" thing is probably just a safety precaution as mixing cabs and impedances seems confusing to many people, so returns/complaints would increase.
     
  8. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    5,157
    Location:
    Location:Location
    It only has one 16 ohm speaker out.
    So they are trying to discourage splitters and series pairs of cabs in case something fails and the remaining impedance is a mismatch or just missing.
     
  9. Old Punker

    Old Punker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    4,004
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    My little 1W amp sounds better through a 2x12, again with impedances matched.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and fitz288 like this.

Share This Page