Bugera G5 Infinium Enigma

Discussion in 'Other Amps' started by scozz, Dec 3, 2021.

  1. scozz

    scozz Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,429
    Likes Received:
    12,669
    I have a Bugera G5 Infinium, I’ve had it about 5 or 6 years and it’s been great.

    I haven’t used it very much the last two years, and it’s developed a problem, and the problem seems weird to me…

    There’s no sound coming from the speaker,… the headphone jack and the line out jack work fine, but no sound from the speaker.

    ?

    Should I try bridging the loop to see if there’s sound?

    Anyone have this happen with an amp?

    Thanks.
     
  2. South Park

    South Park Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2019
    Messages:
    3,818
    Likes Received:
    3,550
    Yes you can bridge the FX loop and plug into the return and play the power section . You may have a bad connection on the jacks . Check the fuses to
     
    scozz likes this.
  3. Gunner64

    Gunner64 Emotional Support Animal Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,470
    Likes Received:
    10,606
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    Maybe the output tube took a shit.
     
    scozz and fitz288 like this.
  4. scozz

    scozz Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,429
    Likes Received:
    12,669
    That’s the first thing I thought about, the tubes. But I haven’t checked anything yet, including the tubes. Mostly because I can’t wrap my head around how is it that I can play through my headphones, in the e-out jack, and it sounds perfect,… but complete silence coming from the speaker?!
     
  5. scozz

    scozz Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,429
    Likes Received:
    12,669
    Thanks for the suggestion SP, I appreciate it. I tried it and no luck, complete silence.

    Have you seen this before,… where a speaker, (that works fine, and a speaker cable that works fine), is completely silent and I can play through the headphones, in the e-out jack, and it sounds perfect?! :hmm:

    I just don’t understand how that’s possible, what am I missing? :shrug:
     
  6. South Park

    South Park Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2019
    Messages:
    3,818
    Likes Received:
    3,550
    Your problem is in the power tube section if the head phones work it is the preamp section . It is going to be tubes or transformer you can try different tubes . With power on and tubes in with no guitar you will get some noice his pops anything means the transformer is working
     
    scozz likes this.
  7. scozz

    scozz Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,429
    Likes Received:
    12,669
    Sorry but I’m not really clear what you mean in your first sentence. The way it reads I’m not sure if you’re saying my problem is more likely the tubes or the transformer?

    Just to clarify,…. you’re suggesting it could be a tube if I hear noise, crackling or hiss,….

    And if it’s the transformer it would be dead silent,…

    Then it’s the transformer then, because I’m getting no sound of any kind, dead silence.

    I have spare power and preamp tubes so I’ll try a new power tube, there’s only one in this amp and only one preamp tube also.

    Thanks again for the help! :yesway:
     
  8. fitz288

    fitz288 Well-Known Yinzer Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    10,481
    Location:
    the Burgh
    I don't have this amp, and I'm far from some sort of diagnostic expert, but I didn't see a replay about fuses.
     
    scozz likes this.
  9. South Park

    South Park Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2019
    Messages:
    3,818
    Likes Received:
    3,550
    Sorry about the replay if you get any noice at all even the smallest amount the power tubes and transformer is working . The two main things that can go bad are tubes and transformer if one or the ether is bad you get no noice . You can check the bias voltage if the bias is bad all you will hear is the heaters . When you build amps this is how you test the power section
     
    scozz likes this.
  10. scozz

    scozz Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,429
    Likes Received:
    12,669
    I missed that fitz, thanks for reminding me, yes the fuse is fine.

    Tomorrow I’m going to replace both the power and preamp tubes, as I mentioned before there’s only one of each.

    The preamp is your regular 12AX7, but the power tube is a 12BH7. Now that I think about it, l don’t know if I have a spare 12BH7.
    :hmm:
     
    fitz288 likes this.

Share This Page