Boss GT1 question

Discussion in 'The Tone Zone' started by Sneaks, Jan 13, 2021.

  1. Sneaks

    Sneaks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    30
    Are any of you guys hooking up the Boss GT1 in your amp's effects loop? I want to use the effects only and bypass the amp sims. but I'm not sure how to hook this up using the amp's loop and the manual does not touch on it. The only input on the GT1 is shown in the manual as guitar in. Not sure if it's safe to send the effects send signal from the amp to the input on the GT1?
     
    SkyMonkey and fitz288 like this.
  2. fitz288

    fitz288 Well-Glowin' Ember Silver Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    996
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I don't have the GT-1, but I've run my ME-80 in the effects loop on a couple of amps for timing stuff like chorus, reverb & delay.
    Loop send to ME-80 input and mono out to the loop return.
    I didn't notice any huge difference from running it in the front end, except that the DSL & Origin footswitch has a loop button to just bypass everything with 1 button.
     
    Sneaks likes this.
  3. Sneaks

    Sneaks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    30
    I have other pedals I want to run in front of my amp and I hear the GT1 does not play well with pedals. I was hoping to use it in my amp's effects loop but not sure that is possible with this unit.
     
    fitz288 likes this.
  4. AdrianDSL

    AdrianDSL Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    37
    Should work as fitz288 suggested. Used several pedals and a Zoom G3n in the loop with no issues. It may take some time to get the volume levels and EQ right, but I don't see why it shouldn't work.
     
    fitz288 and Sneaks like this.
  5. Sneaks

    Sneaks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    30
    fitz288 likes this.
  6. fitz288

    fitz288 Well-Glowin' Ember Silver Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    996
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    ME-80 is the same - just guitar in and out R/L (mono).
    No mention in the manual of using in a loop, but it works like any other single pedal.
    Here's a pic of it hooked up to the Origin20H.
    20210114_122439 (002).jpg
     
    Sneaks likes this.
  7. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,989
    Likes Received:
    3,903
    Location:
    Location:Location
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2021
    fitz288 likes this.

Share This Page