Before I purchase a replacement JVM F/S...

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by rrguitar1, Jul 16, 2020.

  1. rrguitar1

    rrguitar1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    167
    Does anyone know if the cause if my F/S failure could be something internal in the head? I have a JVM205H. I never got around to purchasing another F/S yet

    I just find it odd that it would suddenly stop working.

    Any suggestions? I tried the reset options btw...nothing has worked.
     
  2. Trumpet Rider

    Trumpet Rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    3,434
    Do the channel/effects buttons on the head work? If so, I would think the problem is with the foot switch.

    If you haven't yet, try a different cable. You can use a common instrument cable.
     
  3. Headache

    Headache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    694
    Marshall footswitch especially the cable is crap 9 times out of 10.
    I've pulled them apart and resoldered them and replaced switches.... Great amps, sucky footswitches!
     
  4. Kinkless Tetrode

    Kinkless Tetrode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Doesn't the JVM f/s just use an instrument or speaker cable? It doesn't matter which. Easy replacement. They are not at all like the TSL f/s design.

    Just use a known good guitar cable and see if works.
     
    MonstersOfTheMidway likes this.
  5. Lance Chambers

    Lance Chambers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    The Land That Time Forgot
    As mentioned........:agreed:

    Have you disassembled the F/S and checked the components? Checked for loose soldering, etc.,. You can test each button with a jumper wire to isolate a faulty switch.

    :drunk:
     
  6. kebek

    kebek Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    233
    Just use a guitar cable to test
    and do a reset on the footswich
     
  7. rrguitar1

    rrguitar1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    167
    I will try a different cable.
    I have taken apart the FS, I'll do that in a bit tonight for sure. Yes, the buttons on the are working normally.

    Ok guys, I'll try and see what it is
    Thanks. I'll report back
     
  8. Trumpet Rider

    Trumpet Rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    3,434
    This is the first I've heard of a JVM foot switch not working. I don't know about other Marshall foot switches, but as far as I can tell the JVM's are pretty reliable.
     
    Jethro Rocker likes this.
  9. rrguitar1

    rrguitar1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    167
    Not mine....I jammed with the band one time with it and the rest of the playing was at home, living on Ch2 amber mode.

    I hardly ever used the FS and it stopped.
     
  10. Lance Chambers

    Lance Chambers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    The Land That Time Forgot
  11. MonstersOfTheMidway

    MonstersOfTheMidway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077
    Likes Received:
    2,720
    Reset options for the JVM4 and JVM2 amps are 1) reset the footswitch, and 2) reset the head.

    You can first try resetting the footswitch to see if things improve. If that doesn't work, you try resetting the head to see if communication between the head and footswitch is established. Either way, it really doesn't cost you any money but just a little time and effort.

    Check to make sure you have a good working cable connected between head and footswitch. If you have some guitar leads that are in good working condition, change out the current cable to see if communication is restored.

    If the footswitch is ever disconnected while the amp is on, it is recommended that you pull the lead from the head and first connect the lead to the footswitch then connect the other end of the lead to the amp so that the head and footswitch can appropriately synchronize. Once while I was playing my 410H, the footswitch disconnected from the lead but the other end of the lead was still attached to the; when I tried to reattach the lead to the footswitch, the footswitch did not work. It was only after I completely removed the lead from the head and connected it first to the footswitch and then the other end head did the footswitch worked again as normal.

    Question: did you buy the amp new or used? If purchased brand new, the footswitch is included with the amp and should be covered under the same warranty as the amp, which is the way I'd go if the amp was still under warranty. If you purchased the amp used from a dealer, check to see if the dealer offered any kind warranty/exchange/return/repair policy that would make the amp and footswitch covered.
     
    Kinkless Tetrode likes this.
  12. rrguitar1

    rrguitar1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    167
    I'll try that as well with the order of connection.
    I did purchase brand new back in 2018
     
  13. rrguitar1

    rrguitar1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    167
    I try those options on they didn't work.

    Also I just noticed after all this time. The footswitch is made in Vietnam.

    Now, I owned the jvm205h back in 2009 and I remembered the original footswitch had light indicators on top of each mode to tell you which one was engaged this one doesnt. Pctures below...

    Are the jvm's now shipping with these types of foot switches made in Vietnam?

    ***Edit***
    I see that they are indeed shipping this new style FS with the jvm. I liked the original one better. Cut cost.....

    20200717_093451.jpg Polish_20200717_093633911.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2020
  14. marshallmellowed

    marshallmellowed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830
    Likes Received:
    4,757
    Wow, that looks tiny (that's what she said), compared to the one I had.
     
    Jethro Rocker likes this.
  15. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,267
    Likes Received:
    9,805
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Yeah I have a 6 button as well.
     
  16. FracStrat

    FracStrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    1,051
    Location:
    Water Side of WA State
    Ahh ……The wonders of IC Matrix Relays !!!
     
  17. atarilovesyou

    atarilovesyou Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    64
    The footswitches were always made off-shore; never in England, anyway.
     
  18. radiomatts

    radiomatts Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Skokie, IL
    JVM footswtches aren’t hardwired. They use ordinary guitar cables.
     
    Headache likes this.

Share This Page