Anyone Recording with a MAC? Advice/Thoughts

Discussion in 'The Backstage' started by dptone5, Nov 1, 2015.

  1. dptone5

    dptone5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5,358
    Likes Received:
    4,217
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Hey everyone. Recording with a Boss 1600 and a Korg D1600. Thinking of going the PC route.

    We are now an Apple family. Really like our computers and laptops.

    Anyone using a MAC to record? I have an I-Mac 27" for our family computer. I think I would like to go with a MacBook Pro or MacBook Air laptop.

    I'd appreciate any advice/thoughts on recording with a MAC laptop and specs....

    Thanks everyone!

    DP
     
  2. Dogs of Doom

    Dogs of Doom Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    22,011
    Likes Received:
    24,143
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    is it PC to use a Mac these days? :lol: I crack myself up - no charge for the humor...

    I have buddies that use Pro Tools & that's a made for Mac application. They seem to do very well w/ it. I use a PC, oh wait, isn't that what you're asking?, :D I've been using Cool Edit Pro, since the '90s & Adobe bought it out, so it goes by the name Audition. It's very much like running a tape machine & patchbays, so that's why I like it. I've tried just about everything else & just couldn't get on w/ it for one reason or another...

    I'm pretty sure that, these days, everything is available across the platforms. If you're using Mac, then I'd stick w/ it...
     
  3. lucidspoon

    lucidspoon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    I use a Mac mini. The biggest thing is to make sure you have enough memory, or at least can upgrade it yourself. Ordering a computer with extra memory from Apple is ridiculously expensive. The Macbook Air is probably next to impossible to upgrade yourself, and I know they were starting to making all of the Macbooks harder at one point. My Mac mini was super easy though. Just a plate that twists off the bottom.

    Don't know what they come with these days, but you'd probably want at least 8GB. That's what I have, and even though it's about 4 years old, it runs Reaper just as good as it did when I got it.

    You can get Pro Tools for Mac and PC.
     
  4. dash8311

    dash8311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    877
    I use Logic Pro X on my 27" iMac, it's great.

    AirDrop is your friend for sending files to your other Mac products as well (video, audio).
     
  5. Frodebro

    Frodebro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    6,274
    Location:
    Seattle
    I'm running Logic X on a 2011 Mini Server. 16GB RAM, four hard drives (one for OS/DAW, two for software instrument libraries, and one to record everything to). I've had track counts over 50 with a bunch of software instruments and plug-in effects going, and it barely breaks a sweat.
     
  6. ricksteruk

    ricksteruk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Morecambe, England
    I used to use Digital Performer on my mac. It's a brilliant DAW.

    However this time when I was due to upgrade, I saw what Logic ProX offered and I was floored by the amount of goodies they give you, so I gave it a go.

    No regrets.

    I'm using a Macbook Pro 2.5Ghz i5 and it can do way more processing than I normally need. As with all computers though.. if you leave it switched on for weeks at a time with dozens of applications running it does occasionally get sluggish. Fair play I say.

    I would reckon any of the mac available to day would do plenty enough for you unless you want to run a gazillion software instruments in real time.
     
  7. dptone5

    dptone5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5,358
    Likes Received:
    4,217
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Great advice and news!! Thanks for the input everyone. Hope to hear about more people's experiences too.

    DP
     
  8. scat7s

    scat7s New Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13,867
    Likes Received:
    7,289
    my buddy just upgraded his mac (mini I think?) to el capitan.

    nothing works. no reaper, no protools. fwiw...
     
  9. Frodebro

    Frodebro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    6,274
    Location:
    Seattle
    I'm holding off on the upgrade until everything catches up.
     
  10. dash8311

    dash8311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    877
    Holding off on upgrading as well, Slate hasn't caught up quite yet (even thought people are reporting their plugins working on El Cap).
     
  11. Redstone

    Redstone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,387
    Likes Received:
    2,295
    Location:
    Ireland
    If you are thinking of getting a Macbook, I'd go with the Pro over the Air. Heaps of power (depending on the model) and still pretty dang thin, although not quite as light (nor really heavy by any means either).
     
  12. Ransom

    Ransom Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    Land of Lincoln
    MacBook Pro - Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 - Reaper - Addictive Drums. Great combo. I bought the Studio Devil Virtual Bass Amp Pro plugin for kiiler bass tones, and I'm working on deciding what the best guitar plugin is that I'll buy.

    Oh, and I'm still running Yosemite! El Capitan hoses a lot of things, as others have said.
     
  13. Ransom

    Ransom Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    Land of Lincoln
    I'll second that. I bought a low-end Pro with 8GB RAM, and this machine has tons of horsepower. And it's 3 1/2 pounds and follows me everywhere. :D
     
  14. dptone5

    dptone5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5,358
    Likes Received:
    4,217
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    What is El Capitan?
     
  15. scat7s

    scat7s New Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13,867
    Likes Received:
    7,289
    the latest mac OS version/upgrade whathaveyou...
     
  16. MorePaul

    MorePaul New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    234
    MacBook Pro for me and Logic Pro X
    I use a tascam 1641 usb interface

    I downloaded an app for my iphone called IpTouch
    and now I can remotely control the daw via iphone

    -pretty cool when you're the only one in the studio and behind the drum kit
    or what not and need a quick way to hit record;stop; undo...etc...haha

    Logic X is amazing ...well worth the $200 and it comes with like 5 gigs of loops...

    the "drummer" in Logic X is a really innovative take on drum tracks.

    Logic X gets :yesway::yesway: from me!!

    Love the MAC too - its a 2009 and still purring like a kitten
     
  17. Australian

    Australian Green Beret VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    17,850
    Likes Received:
    9,814


    Garageband is for free, so you can start there. The good thing about that is, when/if you want to upgrade to Logic Pro X, you'll be still working in a familiar environment.
    But I'm sure you'll even find Garageband enough of a step up from the hardware you're using at the moment.
     
  18. dptone5

    dptone5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5,358
    Likes Received:
    4,217
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Thanks everyone! Great information. Anyone using Cubase? I've heard good things about it as well.

    What are some of the best software programs? I have Garage Band on my I-Mac. I think I will start mixing some of my previous tracks on my family computer to see how it goes. If Logic X is similar and I like Garage Band, that may be the way to go.

    Thanks!

    DP
     
  19. Ransom

    Ransom Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    Land of Lincoln
    Reaper is only sixty bucks for a personal license and works great.
     
  20. scat7s

    scat7s New Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13,867
    Likes Received:
    7,289
    reaper rules.
     

Share This Page