Anybody Got a Fix for This? Anyone? FRose

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by Moose Lewis, Sep 25, 2014.

  1. Moose Lewis

    Moose Lewis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    877
    Location:
    GARM Studio - Amherst, VA - USA
    Hey guys - looking for a possible fix for this. It would seem after all these years someone should be offering a pre-cut block to fill the topside hole of a Floyd Rose system for hard tail conversion.

    [​IMG]

    Any whammy tricks I get inspired to do, are done on my V with the Wonderbar tremolo - which is very smooth; easy to change strings; and almost never goes out of tune.

    I've sold and bought back my '83 Kramer Pacer Deluxe twice out of frustration of dealing with the FR. The tone of that heavy body and SD neck pup is inescapable - but I just don't use the FR on it, and am tired of messing with it.

    Any block kits out there to fill the void that would be left by removing the FR? I'd love to go hard tail on this sweet player.

    Thanks for any insight or help.
    :cheers: Cheers!
     
  2. blues_n_cues

    blues_n_cues Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22,226
    Likes Received:
    20,108
    Location:
    Dixie Hollow
    the best I could guess would be to trace a template,measure the desired depth,and cut one yourself.
     
  3. Moose Lewis

    Moose Lewis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    877
    Location:
    GARM Studio - Amherst, VA - USA
    Thanks for the reply... but I'd just bugger it up, if I tried to do it. Done some similar in the past, and I don't have the knack.

    Guess I'll have to hunt someone local with woodworking skills.
    :cheers: Cheers!
     
  4. Blacque Jacque

    Blacque Jacque Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,674
    Likes Received:
    2,273
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    I've tried this & it really isn't worth the effort.

    Block the trem to lock it in place, cheap easy, reversible.

    Alternatively, just buy a hardtail body & swap all the hardware. You can find them prefinished in most standard colours & it would probably cost you less than finding a good craftstman who can do the work.
     
    blues_n_cues likes this.
  5. Moose Lewis

    Moose Lewis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    877
    Location:
    GARM Studio - Amherst, VA - USA
    Ah... but the body wood is what it's all about (either Northern Ash or solid Maple). The tones this thing produces is the reason I keep it. Had it blocked for awhile, but pointless since it's still a PITA to change strings or set intonation.

    But thanks for the input.
    :cheers: Cheers!
     
  6. rdamaral

    rdamaral New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    install a small L bracket on the underside, to stop it's movement. Then it will sit stable and not move. Plus you will still be bale to dive...
     
    blues_n_cues likes this.
  7. Dogs of Doom

    Dogs of Doom Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    22,783
    Likes Received:
    25,965
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  8. Blacque Jacque

    Blacque Jacque Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,674
    Likes Received:
    2,273
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    I very much doubt it's maple, I have a Tele made from maple & even severely sculpted, thinned down & generally weight relieved it still weighs 2.7 metric neutron stars. :squint:

    Northern ash bodies aren't hard to come by.

    I DO understand what you're saying about the tone, but that tone would very likely change if you were to fill the FR cavities. :yesway:

    If you are determined to hardtail it, I would consider modding a Tele bridge to fit. Drill it out to fit the FR stud spacing & then bolt it down solid to those inserts.
     
  9. Moose Lewis

    Moose Lewis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    877
    Location:
    GARM Studio - Amherst, VA - USA
    Yeah - I've never weighed it, but my Ibanez Artist weighs 10.5 pounds and this thing is noticeably heavier. Do love the tone.

    I'll look into the Telly bridge thing. Thanks!
    :cheers: Cheers
     
  10. DirtySteve

    DirtySteve Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14,868
    Likes Received:
    13,645
    Location:
    High & dry in TN
    What do you do about anchoring the strings though? A Tele bridge is designed for string though.
     
  11. 66 galaxie

    66 galaxie Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5,568
    Likes Received:
    5,487
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Some tele bridges are string through or load from the back.
     
  12. DirtySteve

    DirtySteve Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14,868
    Likes Received:
    13,645
    Location:
    High & dry in TN
    Oh ok, cool....carry on. :yesway: I think it's a cool idea.
     
  13. blues_n_cues

    blues_n_cues Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22,226
    Likes Received:
    20,108
    Location:
    Dixie Hollow
  14. dslman

    dslman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    1,442
    Don't do it, just install a TremolNo. .It will allow you float or hardtail operation. I had the exact same guitar and color,but it was dropped and the neck busted in two.:(
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2014
  15. TwinACStacks

    TwinACStacks New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    14,938
    Likes Received:
    8,089
    Location:
    DETROIT Suburbs
    :D Get a REAL Strat?

    (ducks for cover)

    :cool::cool: TWIN
     
  16. 66 galaxie

    66 galaxie Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5,568
    Likes Received:
    5,487
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Moose, good to see you posting again :wave:

    I have some questions for you.

    If you do fill the recess for the floyd. What kind of bridge are you going to use?
    What is the pita for you when changing strings?
    Are you aware of this tool for helping set the intonation on a floyd?

    STEWMAC.COM - The Key

    Not trying to get you to keep using something you dont want to use. Just want to show you some ways to get around some of the drawbacks you see.

    I think the cheapest, most effective option would be to cut two tapered pieces of wood that would fit on either side of the tremolo block. Get the two pieces to fit so that the trem sits parallel to the top of the body, and it will act exactly like a hard tail. Changing strings and intonation will be a breeze.

    To make it totally reversible, just put a piece of two sided carpet tape on each piece of wood to help hold it in place.



    Blues, Thank you for the thought :yesway:
     
  17. hazmat7719

    hazmat7719 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Maryland
    Moose Lewis,
    Can you post the measurements (H x W x D) of the block that you need?
     

Share This Page