Amps in stereo with multiple effects.

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Lukas, Dec 23, 2019.

  1. Lukas

    Lukas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Canada
    I’m aware of how to connect 2 cabs in stereo via two heads but my question is right now I have a pretty kick ass pedal board and only some of those pedals are stereo. If I chose to buy another head to run my two 1960 cabs in stereo how would I achieve utilizing all my pedals through two heads? I will add that all my pedals are in the effects loop. Splitting the signal to the front of two heads I guess I’d use a twin city ABY. For the pedals would I just make sure the first and last pedals in the loop were stereo pedals and I can connect them to both heads through each effects loop that way??? Or is there a better way to achieve this?.... that makes for a lot of cables haha.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2019
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  2. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    5,209
    Location:
    Location:Location
    Depends on the stereo pedals you have. And the amps.
    They are usually the time-based ones placed at the end of the chain (in the loop).
    Choruses are mostly mono in (e.g. BOSS) and stereo out.
    General convention (YMMV) is Chorus>Delay>Reverb.
    Hopefully you have stereo out Chorus, and full stereo Delay and Reverb.
    Anyway, the last in the chain has to be stereo out.

    Assuming you want to use some sort of 4CM (becomes 5CM), the stereo effects will be in the loop of your preferred amp, and the preamp tone of that amp will be sent to the power amps of both heads.
    So in the loop of amp A is a stereo pedal, with one out to the return of amp A, and the second stereo out to the FX return of amp B.

    Where you might have problems with 5CM is if one or both of the amps is non-MV.
    There is no onboard way to attenuate an amps power amp if it has a simple series loop.
    You will need some way of balancing the volumes of the amps, as the preamp of amp A may be louder sounding through a different model amp (amp B?).
    This is my setup: Amp A is MV (DSL40CR), amp B is non-MV (VS65R).
    But amp B has a series/parallel FX loop with a mixer knob.
    I can blend in the wet signal of amp A (and effects) with the silent (unconnected) preamp of amp B, like an MV.
    The other method is to run all the pedal chain in front of the amps and split the signal using a stereo pedal last in the chain.
    One out to amp A and one out to amp B.
    This method suffers from the general rule that time based sound better post-gain and not pre (again YMMV).
     
    matttornado likes this.
  3. SonVolt

    SonVolt Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    15,768
    Likes Received:
    16,278
    Location:
    South of Nashville
    If you try and use 2 dedicated guitar amp heads (let's call them Amp A and Amp B) to achieve this with your current momo pedal rig, you'll probably run into summing issues where you're feeding Amp A's preamp signal back into Amp B's loop return, which isn't ideal. Amp A and B's signal path need to be kept isolated. This is easy with a high-end effects unit like a Fractal FX-8. More problematic (and i imagine noisy) with pedals. In your situation I would slave Amp B and put the stereo pedals at the end of your chain and feed Amp B's loop return with the 2nd stereo out of the last pedal. Only plug your guitar into Amp A (the Master).
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  4. Lukas

    Lukas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Canada
    I currently have a JVM210H running through a 1960A & 1960B cabs. I would most likely add a JCM2000 100watt head as they’re plentiful and usually a good price used. Here is my setup and all these pedals are in the loop which some might argue isn’t right ie: the Wah but whatever it sounds great and I’m not a big wahhh guy anyway. The path goes tuner, chorus, flanger, EQ, noise suppressor, delay, wah, looper and back to effects loop in amp. There’s no reverb pedal and the MXR carbon copy is not stereo. The delay and wahhh obviously come after the suppressor as that pedal deems it undesirable and cancels them. I’ve run my setup like this for years and it sounds killer.
     

    Attached Files:

    Mitchell Pearrow and SkyMonkey like this.
  5. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    5,209
    Location:
    Location:Location
    I would run like so:
    Slave JCM to JVM with 5CM.
    Tuner>Wah>JVM preamp>EQ>NS>Delay>Flanger or Chorus (both are mono in).

    Then split from the Flanger or Chorus to both FX return jacks.

    The JCM has no MV or mixer control for the FX loop (i.e. simple series I think, the manual doesn't say), so that could give you problems balancing the volume of the 2 amps. The JCM power amp would just be flat out (loud).
    You could use a volume box (e.g. JHS Little Black Amp Box) just before the JCM return to balance them out.
     
    WellBurnTheSky likes this.
  6. Lukas

    Lukas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Canada
    And would this be a true stereo setup slaving? My setup now sounds pretty damn good would this setup be much of an upgrade? Is it worth it is what I’m asking? I’m guessing to do this would cost around $1500 with the head and cables and any other needed items to achieve it.
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  7. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    5,209
    Location:
    Location:Location
    Can you get hold of a small cheap amp to experiment with first. I got the VS65R for about £70!
    It would need an FX loop!
    Borrow one off a mate?
     
  8. SonVolt

    SonVolt Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    15,768
    Likes Received:
    16,278
    Location:
    South of Nashville
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  9. Lukas

    Lukas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Canada
    I own a DSL 40CR also
     
    SkyMonkey and Mitchell Pearrow like this.
  10. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    5,209
    Location:
    Location:Location
    Being an MV amp, the DSL40CR is a perfect test amp.

    Just don't push it too far trying to match with the 100W JVM.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  11. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    26,779
    Likes Received:
    13,962
    Location:
    united States of America
    You have two tube amplifiers. Slap a 4x12 under that DSL40CR, use it with the JVM210H and other 4x12. Spread them as much as you can. It will sound louder than you think.

    I would just use the mono delay at the end of one stereo route after the split, whichever amplifier/4x12 you want to be more wet sound.
     
    SkyMonkey and Mitchell Pearrow like this.
  12. Lukas

    Lukas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Canada
     
  13. SlapHand

    SlapHand Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    296
    Location:
    Norway
    My solution to amps with different headroom in a w/d/w setup was going for a stereo volume pedal from Ernie Ball.

    I run a DSL40c and a DSL40cr in stereo with a JMP 2204 as the center dry amp.

    The DSL’s and the JMP react very different from dirt pedals. More so after I began using the low input on the JMP.

    Volume pedal come after dirt. One ch. to JMP and the other to the DSL40cr. I slave the DSL40c from the stereo pedals in the DSL40cr’s fx-loop.

    This let’s me pan the JMP with the DSL’s.

    Might not be the optimal solution but works for me.

     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  14. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    5,209
    Location:
    Location:Location
    If you are still wondering if stereo is worthwhile, go to your HiFi system, put on some AC/DC, turn it up, and unplug one speaker!

    I bet it won't be long before you plug the speaker back in.
     
    Kelia and Mitchell Pearrow like this.
  15. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    5,209
    Location:
    Location:Location
    Good spot that, as many "stereo" delays only output wet to one channel, e.g. DD-3T, DM-2W.
     
  16. trovador

    trovador Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    271
    Location:
    Boston
    Correct, those are not true stereo but they have their use nevertheless. I run a wet/dry setup with the wet delay going through amp B and it sounds awesome.
     
  17. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    What I do is run a line out between my 100 watt Superlead and cab into my Boss EQ and Delay and then into either my DSL40CR's Effect Return or into a Quilter Microblock 45 / 1x12 cab. I like my chorus & phase 90 in front of the amps better than in the loop.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and SkyMonkey like this.

Share This Page