Adding A Choke To My 18 Watt Build

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by myself80, Oct 13, 2016.

  1. myself80

    myself80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Nassau, Long Island
    Hello all!. I have a ClassicTone 3H choke that I would like to add to this amp. After some research, this is what I came up with......

    6V6gt-2204 choke build.jpg

    Can anyone tell me if this is correct before I go for it :)?
    I still need to find a place to mount it. It may have to go under the chassis.
    Is there a better place in the circuit for the choke?
    Thanks in advance

    Cheers!

    *edit Sorry this pic is so big.
     
  2. Guitar-Rocker

    Guitar-Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    2,460
    Location:
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    The choke should take the place of the 1.5K 5W dropping resistor on your cap can. You may need to then increase your 8.2K dropping resistor to a larger value to keep things consistant.

    What resistive value is your 3H choke?
     
  3. myself80

    myself80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Nassau, Long Island
    Hello G.R. I will check the value of the choke later when I get home.
    Thanks for he info:). I read a few articles saying to do exactly what you said. Then I found the schematic above.
    I will go with what you say on this one.

    Cheers!
     
  4. Guitar-Rocker

    Guitar-Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    2,460
    Location:
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    It looks like the Classictone 3H choke is 112R, so if you deduct 112 from 1500 (your 1.5k dropping resistor that will be deleted) you'd end up with @1388R difference. If you up your 8.2k to a 10k it would about even out. IMHO
     
  5. myself80

    myself80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Nassau, Long Island
    Thanks G.R. I may even have a couple of the values needed. If not, it's time for a mouser order:).
    I will check the actual value later just to be sure.
    I hope I can find a place to mount it. It will be real close to the speaker if I mount it on top like usual. I believe there was some room inside.
    The 5010 chassis is a bit bigger than a standard plexi chassis.
    on a side note, I went with a Celestion G-12H-55 Heritage 30 watt, 16 ohm (15 actually), in the combo. Very nice speaker!

    Cheers!
     
  6. coldengray

    coldengray Active Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    189
    What made you decide to add a choke?
     
  7. myself80

    myself80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Nassau, Long Island
    Mostly because I have one on the shelf. LOL!
    I really just want to hear the difference. It it tightens the amp up a bit, that would be ok. If it sounds bad, I will put the resistor back. :)
    I think the problem is that I need to do another build. I am itching to solder something:).

    Also, G.R. , the choke is 112R just like you said. (111.6 actually).

    Cheers!
     
  8. myself80

    myself80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Nassau, Long Island
    I got the choke installed last night. It was too late to try it and see how it sounds :(. I will be checking it out tonight.
    The choke is mounted directly below and very close to the PT. The windings are opposite of each other, so I should not have a problem with that....I hope:.
    Here are a few pics of the installation:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. myself80

    myself80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Nassau, Long Island
    Hello All. I hate to bring up an old thread, but the choke was not a great idea!
    The choke has been removed from the amp. At first I heard no difference and thought it was o.k.
    When I installed new pre amp tubes last week (shugang 12ax7 in v1 and v2), I new something was wrong. The amp was completely lifeless.
    It sounded like I never changed the tubes (v1 was a 1960's sylvania testing dead basically). I had a Mullard re-issue in V2 and an EH in V3). So I took it out and put the resistors back.
    Now the amp sounds like I thought it would when building it. I need to play it more to break it in :).
    I guess the choke is not necessary or a good idea in a lower powered amp? It did make the amp very dull.
    Anyway, it was worth the try.

    Cheers!
     

Share This Page