AC filament string phasing question

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by Matthews Guitars, Feb 27, 2021.

  1. Matthews Guitars

    Matthews Guitars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    3,565
    Likes Received:
    5,251
    Is there a preferred method of phasing the filament string on a Superlead?

    Assuming one phase is red, the other is black, is there any benefit to alternating the color code on the different preamp tubes? For the output tubes I'd assume that you'd alternate their phase in pairs. Both outputs on the same side of the OT get the same filament phase.
     
  2. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    25,990
    Likes Received:
    13,022
    Location:
    united States of America
    No.
    There is only one phase in accordance to your supply.

    Did you wire your filaments into other phase? Explain?
     
  3. Gene Ballzz

    Gene Ballzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,549
    Likes Received:
    2,336
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    image.gif

    Ya Got My Attention!
    Gene
     
  4. thetragichero

    thetragichero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3,182
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    Location:
    flo rida
    i always do all of the power tube 2s one color and 7s the other color, all of the preamp tube 9s one color and 4-5s the other color
     
  5. Travis398

    Travis398 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    1,676
    Location:
    USA
  6. Matthews Guitars

    Matthews Guitars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    3,565
    Likes Received:
    5,251
    George Metropoulous likes to swap the phase from preamp tube to preamp tube for noise reduction purposes. I was reading about this, and that's what makes me ask the question.

    The filaments are run on 6.3 volts AC. I'm not doing DC filaments.
     

Share This Page