A quick hello

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by machinated, Oct 23, 2020.

1. machinated

machinated Member

Thought I better introduce myself here - I've dabbled in and out of this forum over the years, its been a great resource to go through. Apologies in advance for blabbering on about myself, but thats what this is for, right?

I'm an audio engineer by trade, predominantly mixing records these days (but still doing occasional recording projects). Love all things gear/music, and of course growing up in Marshall there's a special attachment there. Still fairly early in my career but 2020 has been pretty crazy, having mixed my first UK Top 10 Album for Melanie C of the Spice Girls, an album for Fleur East as well as lots of major label projects.

Here's a gear rundown:

My favourite amp in the collection is my 79 JMP2203 (usually with Mullard ECC83's but currently with a Tung Sol in v1, a Soldano Hot Mod in v2, Sovtek LPS in V3.

I also own a 1977 Super Bass which I'm currently turning into a Super Lead. Mostly stock late 70's spec, but with a couple of carry over's from a 68 spec. Bit of an ongoing project but its fun to learn from!

Also love my 50w Vintage Modern, really underrated amp. Currently got Mullards in there, nails all those JTM/early Marshall type sounds.

and my other Marshall amp is my DSL 100H. Covers such a wide range of Marshall sounds and does the high gain thing well. I bet if they cost more people would love them more? Always holds its own against the more expensive amps.

Away from the Marshalls, I recently picked up a 2 Channel Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier Rev G - its a kind of transition model with a Rev F style transformer/attached power lead/8-16 Ohm impedance options on it. It couldn't sound any more like what you imagine a Dual Rectifier sounds like.

My Peavey 6505 was one of the first decent amplifiers I ever bought. Amazing amps, for what they do, nothing does it better.