>

2x12 Cab Considerations for A Marshall Virgin

Discussion in 'Cabinets & Speakers' started by Beltalowda, Apr 23, 2021.

1. Beltalowda

Beltalowda Active Member

Hi all-

This is maybe long post, so apologies for you non-readers and short attention spanners. Bear with me, I’m new to the Marshall-type cab thing.

I’m getting ready to order the Marshall Origin 50 head here soon, and I’ve been looking at 2x12 cabs for weeks with the right combination of features and price. I’m steering clear of MDF (though I understand some decent Marshall cabs have an MDF back, and I guess I can live with that). I prefer vertical. Some kind of slant/angle would be ideal, too. Given that I have only about a grand – maybe a hair more to spend on both head & cab, that limits my cab hunt to around $500ish.

2 cab styles that really pique my interest are the slant A-cabs (like the SV20 2x12 style), and something along the lines of a Model 1972 2x12. Obviously, given my budget I can’t afford a new SV20 cab @ $850 bucks, and I’m SOL finding a used Model 1972 for any less than probably 2 grand, so... I’ve been looking at Mojotone and some other options like Sour Mash.

Mojotone has a British style cab (https://www.mojotone.com/Cabinets_x...ifier-2x12-Straight-Speaker-Extension-Cabinet) that seems to maybe be based somewhat on the 1972. It’s got the flat surface baffle that’s angled back at the top a few degrees, as well as the offset speaker placement. However, in looking at the dimensions, It differs from the 1972 in that it is 3” shorter and 2“ deeper The Model 1972 vert appears to be 30”x26”x12”, while the Mojotone is 27"x26"x14". That's 468 inches of difference, assuming that the ply is the same thickness between the two cabs. Anyway, I guess I’m wondering if it would get me close enough to the 1972, tonally. Also, if anyone happens to have this particular Mojotone, I’d appreciate your thoughts on it.