Wiring a 4x12 cab

Discussion in 'Cabinets & Speakers' started by hasic, Oct 16, 2010.

1. hasic

hasic New Member

So, I just got a new 4x12 cab and 4 V30 16 ohm speakers. Now this is the first time I'm actually looking inside a cab so I really have no idea how to wire it all together. All I know is that the amp head only handles 4 or 8 ohm, so was thinking about wiring it in parallel to end up with 4 ohms.

I am very unsure about this now, but I've attached a couple of pictures of how it looks so you can use them to make some drawings of the wires.

My problem is that I'm not very good with electronic stuff and I cant really read schematics even though I've been trying to find out how to do it since yesterday. Could really appreciate some help here.

PS; Don't mind the cables that are on the picture, they are just there because I was messing around without actually knowing what to do.

Attached Files:

2. JohnH

JohnH Well-Known Member

You are on the right track - all in parallel will give you 4 Ohms out of 4 x 16 Ohm speakers. See the second diagram on this link:

Wiring a 4 X 12 Speaker cabinet

It shows two jack also, but just omit one if you wish

3. hasic

hasic New Member

Thanks, but I've already been looking on that page. Problem is I dont know how to use what I see on the schematic practially, if you know what I mean. For example, I'm not sure on what connector to put the first cable, and I have no idea how to go from there either.

4. JohnH

JohnH Well-Known Member

5. JohnH

JohnH Well-Known Member

6. hasic

hasic New Member

Thank you John, the first one you posted was easy to understand. I've got the speakers wired now, just got a few more questions and I'm done. I've got two "minus" cables and two "plus" cables that are supposed to go into the jackplate (?), and the jackplate has got 4 connectors, two at each side but I dont see which side is the plus side. One of the sides are on the input for 4 ohms, is this the "plus" side?