UK Marshall Powered off US AC?

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Len, Dec 30, 2013.

  1. Len

    Len Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    750
    I just got a Marshall JCM1H, but the seller didn't both to advertise that it was designed for UK power.

    The plug supplied wight he amp is a 2 prong UK type, the amp has the UK flag next to the power input, but the power input says 120V - 60Hz, which sound US?

    Any suggestions on what I have to do to be able to power the amp off US power?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2013
  2. damienbeale

    damienbeale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,798
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Oxford ish sorta...
    There is no such thing as a 2 prong UK type, and never has been.

    That's not a UK amp.
     
  3. Redstone

    Redstone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    2,291
    Location:
    Ireland
    120V is USA Voltage. My JCM1C is designed for USA voltages and has a British Flag next to it. It is there because it is made in the UK. I had to get a step-up transformer to use it here in Ireland. we have the same voltage as the UK. I stupidly used just a regular plug converter without a transformer and nearly fried my amp. Luckily the main fuse took the extra voltage and saved the amp. The amp has a spare fuse. Its in a little compartment next to where to power cable plugs in. You just got to pull it to get it open. It is the little thing with the rectangle with a line though it in the photo below. Sorry for the bad photo.

    If it says 120V you should be ready to go. Do you have a cab for it? Make sure it is plugged in to one. Enjoy your amp! They sound great, especially the Boost/Jubilee mode.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Len

    Len Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    750
    Thanks for the feedback. I'm checking with Marshall too, but like you said, it sounds like the amp is made for US power. I think the non-US plug (photo added above) threw me off.
     
  5. damienbeale

    damienbeale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,798
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Oxford ish sorta...
    Checking the fuse in the IEC socket at the back of the amp should give you another clue.
     
  6. keennay

    keennay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,453
    Likes Received:
    2,247
    Have you contacted the seller? If that's a 120V amp, then there's a chance the seller happened to throw in the wrong cable by mistake.

    That's the plug used in France (and most of mainland Europe), but specifically French.


    [​IMG]
     
    crossroadsnyc likes this.
  7. Len

    Len Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    750
    Yeah, I'm trying to get a response from the seller. The fuse is a standard 250V one, which I think is used in US appliances, so all roads (except the plug) lead to US 120V power right now...
     
  8. Adwex

    Adwex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9,021
    Likes Received:
    4,080
    Location:
    I'm not sure.
    This is what you need:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    A standard US power cable for computers and other similar electronic equipment.
    You should be able to get one for about $5.
     
    Redstone likes this.
  9. Len

    Len Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    750
    Yeah, the amp works off 120V. Thanks for everyone's help.
     
    Redstone likes this.
  10. damienbeale

    damienbeale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,798
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Oxford ish sorta...
    It's the current rating will give you a clue. All mains fuses should be 250V rated.
     
  11. crossroadsnyc

    crossroadsnyc Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    20,196
    Likes Received:
    18,275
    Lol, Denmark looks happy.
     
    Chrisuk, keennay and Redstone like this.
  12. Redstone

    Redstone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    2,291
    Location:
    Ireland
    North America looks shocked :lol:
     
    keennay, Chrisuk and crossroadsnyc like this.
  13. damienbeale

    damienbeale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,798
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Oxford ish sorta...
    I think Denmark got N.A's share.
     
  14. Ghostman

    Ghostman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    10,321
    Likes Received:
    10,001
    Location:
    Hopehouse, Selkirk, UK
    [​IMG]
     
    keennay, crossroadsnyc and Redstone like this.
  15. Len

    Len Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    750
    This thread has taken a disturbing turn :).
     
  16. sinner 13

    sinner 13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    Cradle Of Liberty.
    you would think with all the strides we have made as a society in the last 100 years we could at least pull it together long enough to standardize Freaking appliance cords and wall output voltages......:scratch:
     
    Redstone and crossroadsnyc like this.
  17. crossroadsnyc

    crossroadsnyc Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    20,196
    Likes Received:
    18,275
    While juvenile, I'm tempted to do the same w/one of my outlets :lol:
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice