Tsl602 -> Vs412?

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by fyl2u, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. fyl2u

    fyl2u New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    About 10 years ago I bought a Marshall Valvestate head and 4x12 cab.

    Unfortunately the head was stolen, so I've had this VS412 cab knocking around for years.

    A few months ago I bought myself a brand new JCM2000 TSL602 2x12 combo.

    Is it possible to use the cab with the combo?

    The cab says 140W @ 8 Ohms.
    The combo says 60W RMS 8/16 Ohms (with a switch) and has 2 speaker outs - one with the internal speakers plugged into it and one vacant socket.

    The switch is currently in the 16 Ohm position. If I change this to 8, does it change the send to the internal speaker to 8 Ohms too or is that socket always fixed at 8?

    Has anyone done this before? How did it sound?

    If it doesn't work as-is, has anyone successfully modded a VS cab to make it work with a JCM combo?

    Thanks in advance.

    Phil, 32, Stafford, England, UK.
     
  2. Adwex

    Adwex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    4,080
    Location:
    I'm not sure.
    Since the internal speaker is 16 ohms, and the external cab is 8, you cannot use them together, as is.

    The two speaker jacks on the amp are wired in parallel, so both speakers together would combine like this (*warning*math ahead):

    1/Rtotal = 1/R1 + 1/R2
    1/Rtotal = 1/16 + 1/8
    1/Rtotal = 1/16 + 2/16
    1/Rtotal = 3/16
    Rtotal = 16/3
    Rtotal = 5.33 ohms

    Since your amp does not have a selection for 5.33 ohms on the impedance switch, you cannot use the cab and internal speaker together.
     
  3. fyl2u

    fyl2u New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, and thanks for replying.

    Is there a way of rewiring the speakers in the cab to make it 16 ohms?

    If the cab was 16 ohms, does that mean I could plug it in to the combo with the switch on 8 ohms?
     
  4. fyl2u

    fyl2u New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could I just solder in an 8 ohm resistor in the signal path?

    How are the speakers wired in a VS412 cab? 2+2 or all in series?
     
  5. Adwex

    Adwex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    4,080
    Location:
    I'm not sure.
    If the cab was 16 ohms, then you could use both, with the amp set for 8.

    There is no way to re-wire it so that it is 16 ohms.

    Do not wire in a resistor.

    Why don't you just unplug the internal speaker, and use the cab by itself?
     
  6. fyl2u

    fyl2u New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    :hmm::lol: Genius! :rock:

    Good plan, I'll do that.

    Still seems a shame to have 2 speakers doing nothing though.
     
  7. JohnH

    JohnH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Location:
    Wilton NSW
    I also have that cab, and a DSL401 which like your TSL, has a 16Ohm internal speaker and options for switching 8 or 16 Ohm out. It worked fine just through the cab, but I really like the sound of the internal Vintage 30 that i put in the combo, and I also like the extra bass that the cab can provide.

    My answer was to take out two drivers from the cab, and blank them off with plywood panels. The remaining two are wired in series to make a 16Ohm 2x12 cab, with lots of cab volume available. The now 16Ohm closed-back cab combines very well with the 16Ohm combo speaker, for a combined total of 8Ohms set on the amp.

    It works great and sounds huge.

    John
     
  8. fyl2u

    fyl2u New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting.

    Which speakers did you take out?

    Did you experiment - taking out the top 2, the bottom 2, diagonals - and comparing the sound?
     
  9. JohnH

    JohnH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Location:
    Wilton NSW
    Yep, I started with taking out a diagonal pair, but I found it a bit too boomy. Now I have the top two in and the bottom two blanked off, with a pillow in the base of the cab to make it sound tighter.

    cheers

    John
     
  10. fyl2u

    fyl2u New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool, thanks mate, I'll give it a go.
     
  11. Adwex

    Adwex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    4,080
    Location:
    I'm not sure.
    Removing/disconnecting speakers is a good solution to match impedance, but only if you don't mind losing the extra "oomph". Adding speakers is better, but not always in the budget.
     

Share This Page