To DSL40C or Not to DSL40C, That is The Question

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Yanick Roy, Jan 16, 2020 at 9:22 AM.

1. Yanick Roy

Yanick Roy New Member

Hello all,
    first day, first post.
    I have been playing guitar for 35 years, I have gigged, recorded, etc yet oddly, somehow my hands-on experience has been very limited with Marshalls. Nothing against them, just never happenned. I have never owned one and the few studios where I have worked either didn't have one or the tunes being recorded that day didn't call for that sound.
    That being said I have always loved the famous Marshall sound. Now in my late forties I have decided it's time to get myself one but with the vast array of models, which one is best for me?
    I have read and seeing great things about the DSL40C and I could get a used one for 400$ Canadian but I'm thinking the lead channel might be overkill for me and I will most probably never use the lead channel. Is there a better model for me out there in terms of value? (Will be looking to buy used so include discontinued models too in your suggestions.)
    Open to other brands too.

In short here's the question: As per my wishlist below is there a better value for my money than a 400$ DSL40C

Here's my wish list:

(I have other amps for other sounds, so versatility is pretty low on my list)
    -I want an all valve amp
    -Combo
    -10in+ speaker
    -15W-30W I know DSL40C is 40 but that's my absolute max (a low 5w or 1w switch would be a bonus)
    -Very typical plexi to JCM800 sound, I'm looking for an almost cliché, one trick pony hard rock Marshall sound à la AC/DC, GNR, Aerosmith (no high gain modern sound)
    -Will use it mainly with a 1976 SG
    -1 Channel or 1 channel with a foot switchable boost/crunch

Thanks for your suggestion!

2. tce63

tce63 Well-Known Member Premium Member

First :welcome: to the forum, a great place for information.