Three amps, same problem.

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by J. Burns, Nov 3, 2012.

  1. J. Burns

    J. Burns New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Seattle
    I now have THREE, count 'em: THREE amps (1968 Fender Bassman, 1979 Park 1207, 2004 Soldano Avenger) that don't work and have the exact same problem (low-to-non-existent output).

    It is HIGHLY suspicious that all three amps would have the EXACT same problem at the same time.

    I've tried running through different speaker cabinets, I've tried switching pre-amp tubes, I've tried switching IEC cables, I've tried switching speaker cables, I've tried switching instrument cables, I've tried switching fuses, I've tried switching outlets.

    Is the power in my house killing the amps? That's the only thing I can think of.
     
  2. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15,991
    Likes Received:
    5,423
    Location:
    US of A
    Did you try moving to a different supply circuit in your home or wherever?
    Is there a common surge protector or power conditioner involved?
     
  3. thenakedcorninferno

    thenakedcorninferno New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is probably a dumb question, but did you try switching guitars?
     
    blues_n_cues likes this.
  4. blues_n_cues

    blues_n_cues Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22,188
    Likes Received:
    20,022
    Location:
    Dixie Hollow
    this.:thumb:
     
  5. Ken

    Ken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9,935
    Likes Received:
    3,116
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    Are the amps in need or repair, i.e. there is a fried component, or do they just stop working in a particular outlet or group of outlets in your house. Did you try an outlet on a diffent fuse/circuit breaker? Does anything else work in the outlet, like a stereo or lamp? Can you measure your wall voltage without killing yourself?

    When 3 different amps all die the same way, it's not the amps independently. You need to find out what's wrong with the amps and maybe call a qualified electrician to check out your house if the amps are indeed damaged.

    Ken
     
  6. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    18,340
    Likes Received:
    14,211
    Location:
    Vermont
    :D
     
  7. J. Burns

    J. Burns New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Seattle
    Yes, I tried different guitars. In most cases, not even getting any amp hum through the speakers.

    I tested all of the outlets in the basement with a multimeter, this is what I came up with:

    One outlet is steadily oscillating between 116-124.
    One outlet holding steady at 120.
    One outlet bouncing back and forth anywhere between 114-128.
    One outlet that reads a somewhat steady 119, but has spikes up to 400 and will occasionally drop down to zero.

    Obviously I need to get an electrician down there, but knowing my landlords, that could take several months. It took them nearly three years to get them to re-shingle the roof!

    Might lug the heads and a cabinet upstairs to test on a different circuit, but not looking forward to it.

    Thanks all.
     
    NewReligion likes this.
  8. blues_n_cues

    blues_n_cues Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22,188
    Likes Received:
    20,022
    Location:
    Dixie Hollow
     
  9. J. Burns

    J. Burns New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Seattle
    I am going to discontinue use of that particular outlet until I have an electrician check out the basement.

    Now I just have to figure out what to do with these amps. "Take it to a tech" is the simple answer, but most techs in Seattle will charge an arm and a leg for spotty work that they'll make you wait several months for.
     
  10. blues_n_cues

    blues_n_cues Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22,188
    Likes Received:
    20,022
    Location:
    Dixie Hollow
    an old tv/radio repairman w/ the right schematics might be able to help you.
    there's always the old acoustic guitar.:p
     
  11. J. Burns

    J. Burns New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Seattle
  12. diesect20022000

    diesect20022000 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    19,576
    Likes Received:
    7,167
    Location:
    44076
    I'd also check those cabs impedances to make sure they're running within range. you may well be runing an open ground or something and frying your OT's. i don't KNOW that obviously but something's clearly not right here.
     
    thrawn86 likes this.
  13. diesect20022000

    diesect20022000 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    19,576
    Likes Received:
    7,167
    Location:
    44076
    you can get a coltage tester for $10 at your local hardware store. it plus in like any device and just shows you a light that will indicate wether it's an open ground or not.

    i have ONE outlet in my WHOLE house that's an open ground. i only plug window fans in that one and that's only when i'm in the room.
     
  14. blues_n_cues

    blues_n_cues Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22,188
    Likes Received:
    20,022
    Location:
    Dixie Hollow
    time to ground that thing.
     
    diesect20022000 likes this.
  15. Wycked Lester

    Wycked Lester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,105
    Likes Received:
    2,951
    Location:
    667 Neighbor of the Beast
    extention cords are your friends.
     
  16. J. Burns

    J. Burns New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Seattle
    I've heard that running one's amplifier off of an excessively long extension cord is bad news. Anyone confirm/deny?
     
  17. Ken

    Ken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9,935
    Likes Received:
    3,116
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    You have to use good quality cords if you run long distances. I have the orange outdoor types that are rated for heavy duty use. I've never had a problem.

    You can use a regular lamp type indoor cord just fine, but I wouldn't connect a bunch together...although I'd think it would be okay if it's just one amp on the other end. Most can carry lots more amps than you need.

    Ken
     
  18. Maynar

    Maynar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Surrey BC Canada
    I've run orange outdoor cords with no probs in the past but as we all know, the more copper cable the more resistance, the less juice at the end where you need it.

    Higher gauge, longer length = more resistance. Something to take note.

    JMHO.
     
  19. NewReligion

    NewReligion Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9,633
    Likes Received:
    6,760
    Location:
    Wringing That Neck
    So is it a fact that these amps stopped working correctly When/During/After you drew power from the outlet that peaked at 400V?

    N R
     
  20. Wilder Amplification

    Wilder Amplification New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,163
    Likes Received:
    700
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    If you're gonna use extension cords of 200' or more, make sure you're using one rated at 12AWG or lower.
     

Share This Page