The Marshall Major.

Discussion in 'Let's Talk Vintage' started by MajorNut1967, Feb 21, 2011.

1. MajorNut1967

MajorNut1967 New Member

Hi guys,

It seems of late that there has been more conversations and threads either directly or indirectly relating to the Marshall Major amplifier. So while I am not an expert on this amplifier by any means, it is my favorite amplifier and I'd like to give a run down on the amplifier and why it differs from the classic Marshall amplifier.

First off, the Marshall Major is not in the format of your classic 1959 or 1987 amplifier. While it does have some of the Marshall character implemented into it, the original circuit design was actually done by GEC in England and not really meant to be a loud rock guitar amp. It is kind of a mix match of Marshall, Fender, and Hi-Fi all in the same package. I think initially that because venues were getting bigger and the bands were getting louder, Marshall wanted to offer a louder more powerful amplifier. In addition, since I don't believe that Marshall wanted to design a brand-new amplifier from the ground up they borrowed the initial design from GEC.